Vitamin deficits

Dolphingirl1385
on 10/24/14 8:43 am

I had the DS 6-13-14.  I am not positive about the B, but I believe it was B12 because at every dr. appt they give me a b12 shot.  There are two kinds of calcium right?

poet_kelly
on 10/24/14 8:48 am - OH

Well, there are more than two kinds, but the most common are citrate and carbonate.

The B was probably B12.

Your labs will show if you need any other vitamins.  I think many DS folks also take A, E and K.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Valerie G.
on 10/24/14 9:25 am - Northwest Mountains, GA

I'm happy to help any way I can.

Dry vitamins are described as a need specifically for A, D, E and K (A and D for most everyone, some need K, few need E).  They are standardly dispensed as a gel cap, with oil.  DSers malabsorb 80% on average of all fat we consume, making these oil caps pretty useless for us, so we seek out "dry versions" which is a powder inside of a capsule, much better absorbed. 

We also take HUGE megadoses that scare many medical professionals because overdose can be toxic.  The average dose of D, for instance is 400iu.  The average DSer takes 50,000 iu per day, some triple that, just to keep their D levels in check.  A prescription isn't necessary, but these are near impossible to locate OTC.  I found I can get them through Amazon.com and Vitalady.com.  The company is Biotech that makes them.  I found I can get D from Walmart if I ask at the pharmacy, but they are unable to get me the A. 

Valerie
DS 2005

There is room on this earth for all of God's creatures..
next to the mashed potatoes

poet_kelly
on 10/24/14 7:35 am - OH