Sassy Senior Newbie from Dallas, TX

SassySenior
on 10/14/11 10:03 pm - DALLAS, TX
I am 65, and at high risk with a high BMI  & co-morbidities, lincluding Diabetes and Arthritis. I have been studying wls for 10 years. I have Medicare now and can get the surgery. I'm going with the Lap Band. I'm on the pre-op diet, and have lost 25 pounds in 3 months.

I live in Dallas and have chosen the best surgeon in the Southwest, but I am thinking of changing because his office is quite far away. So now I'm looking for the 2nd best surgeon. I'm a member of at least 5 groups to get a balanced view. They range from gastric bypass to lap-band to hard core fanatics who hate the surgeries and have had horrible experiences. I have a lot of links and information for anyone who wants it.

I would love to hear from anyone who can relate to me.
Tammy G.
on 11/7/11 6:09 am
RNY on 06/16/11 with
With over 200 pounds to lose, I wouldn't even think about getting a lap band and would be wary of a surgeon who would recommend it to someone with such a high BMI. Many people with arthritis choose the sleeve or DS because it allows for greater weight loss and still can take NSAIDS. I opted for the RNY, myself.

Distal RNY 6/11 SW 456  CW 311 Complications: Small bowel strangulation 12/23/2012, non healing surgical incision--ongoing.  Still.

frenchgrapes
on 3/11/12 2:05 pm - TX
I had the sleeve back in December 2011. I'm 56, was on Metformin and Byetta for diabetes, and on meds for high blood pressure and high cholesterol. Plus, had problems with very low Vitamin D and arthritis.
Been off all the meds since the day of surgery. Been able to exercise, which helps with the arthritis. Still have lots of aches and pains and hope that will improve as the weight comes off. If not, then I'll look into other options but for now I'm enjoying being med free.

I chose the sleeve to avoid the malabsorption problems too. Three months out and I couldn't be happier. Feel better than I have in years.