Hi I'm a Newbie

Flava_of_bravery
on 12/22/13 9:10 am - Plattsburgh, NY

I'm pre op, considering - I'm 27 and have arthritis in my ankles, knees, hips, and severe nerve root death in my back (sciatica and lumbago from a surgery for scoliosis). I was wondering if any had some similar symptoms? (my bmi is over 57) - Did they go away or at least lessen with WLS? Thanks in advance. 

mkvand
on 12/22/13 4:37 pm
VSG on 01/06/14 with

I'm pre-op, so I can't speak from experience, but the comment I got from my ortho when I asked if losing weight would help with my pain is "losing weight helps with everything."  I hope he's right.  My other ortho (yes, I have two, they specialize in different body parts) said losing weight would allow me to delay knee replacement by several years.

Flava_of_bravery
on 12/23/13 3:34 am - Plattsburgh, NY

Thank you, it's good to know there might be some hope for my legs and back. 

Newlori44
on 1/10/14 11:45 pm
VSG on 12/23/13 with

I have RA and so far (20) days out 25 pounds lost I have more energy then I've ever had and less pressure on my joints has been amazing. I can jog up the stairs without hurting. 

Hoping you will get some huge relief too. ;)

Flava_of_bravery
on 1/12/14 3:27 pm - Plattsburgh, NY

Thank you, I hope so too - that's amazing that you can job up stairs without hurting with RA, I'm happy for you - thank you for sharing :) 

Pookah
on 1/20/14 4:17 am - Dallas, TX

I'd say any weight loss is going to help ease some of the pressure and pain.  With what you are describing, I doubt your pain will completely go away just with WLS.  Nerve issues are horrible - as I am finding out personally.  I am sorry to hear you are dealing with so many painful conditions so young.