Just a touch of Jitters in need of venting...

Porcy1
on 4/14/11 7:23 am - Franklin, WI
Hi! I am a newbie and my DS is scheduled for next Friday. (WOOHOO ) I don't believe I have posted here before , but i am on every single day reading and soaking up as much knowledge, experiences, and advice I possible can! I have learned SO MUCH from you all and I want you to know I am forever grateful for it all!
That being said, please bear with me for a second as I vent a bit. I have learned from reading numerous posts and also from my own personal experiences, that I will endure much ignorance from closed-minded, uneducated people when it comes to a DS...However, I am a bit upset by my very own father in the fact that he seems to support me, but keeps giving me this "I sure hope you know what you are doing" line that kinda offends me. I know he is concerned as I am his "baby girl", but you would think he would at least research a little bit and see the benefits of my decision? No, instead he listens to people who have had RNY's and others who "think" they know all about wls and really dont know *ish (excuse me).
I have a funny feeling this thinking comes from his wife, who's first words to me were, "why cant you just diet and exercise?" (mind you this woman has know me for 17 years and knows that I have had no luck with the whole diet and exercise thing). She also thinks I am being irresponsible because I have a baby who will be 1 on May 1st and she knows I will have difficulty lifting him and caring for him (I am staying with my VERY supportive mother post-op and she will have my baby). she says "how are you going to do it? why cant you wait?" wait until I am in a wheelchair because my bad knees and back have finally given out completely due to the excess weight? Wait until I cant play with him anymore because I am so tired and out of breath? What am I waiting for?