RNY -> RNY -> DS - Surgery 3/15 and would love some feedback

route66hello
on 2/28/12 2:51 pm - Half Moon Bay, CA
DS on 03/15/12

Hello,

I am 47 years old. I had my first RNY in 2006. I lost about 125 lbs but gained at least 75 lbs back within the year. I started at 450, lost 25 on my own and lost about 125 after the surgery. I was 299.99 for about 10 seconds. I was always hungry and never had much restriction. I had a revision in 2009 to essentially the same surgery. I was around 375 and got down to 350. I am not sure of my weight now but it is back up around 400 lbs. I have almost no restriction with my RNY even though the pouch is not stretched. I feel as if I am almost always hungry.

I had thought of the Duodenal Switch (DS) back in 2009 but my surgeon did not do it though I did talk to him about it. I know now I should never have had the second revision.

I found Dr. John Rabkin’s name on this site. I have been working with his office since Oct 2011 and now have a surgery date for 3/15/12. I believe the DS surgery is right for me and also suspect in the years to come it will become the new standard in Weight Loss Surgery (WLS). I have only meant with Dr. Rabkin briefly but will see him again a few days before the surgery. I feel good about all the positive things I have read about him on this site and also from other medical professionals at St. Mary’s hospital while I have been getting my pre-op medical clearances.

The problem is I am very scared. It is a basic fear about dying due to having this surgery. A revision of this type is an open procedure where my previous two where laparoscopic. You come home with a drain and a feeding tube (for emergency). It is a longer surgery, a more risky surgery, etc… I feel like I have done my due diligence and found a good surgeon but the fear is still there. I may weigh 400 lbs but I have a 7 year old little girl and I am here and in her life. My family and friends are not particular supportive because of the risks.