Fats , vitamins and DS

starlightlu
on 1/16/13 9:31 pm - Canada

Hi, I am currently waiting for my DS surgery date. I've been reading as much as I can on the topic and one thing that baffles me is how can we ingest so much fat and not wreak havoc to our coronary arteries????? Also, if we can not absorb vitamins through food, how is it absorbed through supplements. This may seem like a dumb question but I am new to this and I want as much info as possible. Thx ! p.s. this forum is soooooooo helpful!

southernlady5464
on 1/16/13 9:48 pm

It's called DS Math..

We only absorb 20% of the fat we eat (which means if you need 30 grams a day just to stay healthy, you have to actually eat 5 times that amount to get the 30 grams).

Oil based vitamins do not work for that reason. Ours have to be dry and we take quite a bit more than a normie would. Example, I take 2 multivitamins a day minimum...a normal adult would take one a day.

We work harder to get our vitamins and protein in than someone without surgery but the trade off is wonderful..I get to eat the way a good Southerner should...cooking with bacon grease!

My pre-op cholesterol was 230+ without help...I had been on lipitor for over 10 years. NOTHING I did made it go lower without help...it is genetically high. So post op, I am eating like a good DS'er (full fat foods) and my last cholesterol was 179 without any meds. My PCP is as happy as a clam with it.

Duodenal Switch (Lap) 01-24-11 | Surgeon: Stephen Boyce | High weight: 250 in 2002 | Surgery weight: 203 | Lowest weight: 121 | Current weight: 135 | Goal weight: 135

starlightlu
on 1/16/13 9:52 pm - Canada

wow, thx for info; the excess fat diet really scared me but your explanation makes sense to me now. 

Valerie G.
on 1/16/13 9:58 pm - Northwest Mountains, GA

Truly its amazing.  I eat red meat every day along with whole cheeses, lots of butter and eggs, and my cholesterol was 120 last checked.

Valerie
DS 2005