Concentration issues?

Fire_Ice
on 1/27/18 6:34 pm
DS on 10/25/17

I'm an author. I had my DS surgery at the end of October. Because of the holidays and some family things (and recovering from surgery!) I basically put writing on pause (I did other things like marketing and such).

I recently sold a book to a publisher with a very brief deadline. I have written full-length novels in the same timespan before, so I wasn't worried. However, now that I'm in the middle of it, I'm having a really difficult time. I have a harder time concentrating (even with reading, which I've always loved to do) and find my mind skipping all over the place. I'm not meeting the daily goals I need to meet. I can't even get motivated. In the past there was this, "You don't have a choice, get the book done" feeling. Now? The situation is the same but I just can't make myself do it. I also don't want to/can't ask for an extension (honestly wouldn't be possible and would make me look unprofessional to the publisher). I'm able to meet my obligations and responsibilities in all the other areas of my life - but in being creative and making up a story, I'm really failing.

I was curious as to whether this was normal for anyone else, or if I'm just paddling away in my rowboat alone. :)

PattyL
on 1/28/18 12:03 am

I write too. Usually for pennies. I am not in your league. Me personally, I look for excuses. Love the story part but all those nasty details like continuity bog me down. I have to watch myself because I will procrastinate, avoid, and use every excuse ever written. Some books are much harder to write than others.

Some may theorize your difficulties are hormone related because you are in the rapid weight loss phase. And it's quite possible!

PeteA
on 1/28/18 7:40 am - Parma, OH
DS on 04/15/13

It wouldn't be unusual for the first couple of months just with the whole major surgery / healing phase but not usual after that.