Natural stuff

robinespeland
on 11/8/11 3:40 am - OR
Hi-

I am new to the fibromyalgia part of this website, but a long time member of the lap band site.I recently found out I have fibromyalgia, but have suspected it for several years. My PC wouldn't really talk about it. So I finally broke down and went to a pain clinic, the probem with this is that the pain clinic want 6 grand to treat me, most, if all won't be covered by insurance. Not gonna' happen.

My most troubling symptoms are headache, lots of times dibelitaing migraine headaches, muscle pain and tiredness. I have been taking Cymbalta (which i know is one of the meds they use for pain with fibro) I also take Gabapentin for my headaches wich really only takes the edge off. My dr. did prescribe muscle relaxers for the muscle pain. They make me even more tired.

I was wondering what other people take to help with their symptoms. I would love to know of some natural stuff that works....

Thanks for your help.

Hislady
on 11/8/11 10:37 am - Vancouver, WA
Well what I took was far from natural but it was all that ever worked and that was Imitrex. That was the one good thing about hitting menopause, I stopped having migraines! Hopefully someone else will have something more on the natural line that will help you. Sorry you've had to join us!
Anukis
on 11/9/11 9:44 am - Edmonton, Canada
You may want to go see a Doctor of Naturopathic Medicine, if you have that option in your area.
I haven't gone myself, but have heard one speak at our fibro meetings, and also know several others with fibro who have gone and they have good things to say.

I try to work on my pacing, use my TENS machine, heat, and any other methods I can come up with to manage the fibro before I use medications as I have too many sensitivities.