Sex/Love Addiction...

jenblove
on 11/28/11 1:03 pm - NC
 Would rather post this anonymously, but really could use some support.  I started counseling in Nov 2009 for what was then diagnosed as "sex/love addiction" after engaging in a few inappropriate relationships.  It was more about the attention...feeling desirable.  I would actually get a "high" from the flirtations, text messages, phone calls, emails, etc.  If I didn't hear from the person, I would get really depressed.  I had been doing really well for the past 12 months and knew after having the RnY surgery I may have problems again after receiving more attention from men after losing weight, so I started going to my counselor again pre-surgery.  I haven't been back since the surgery in September and I'm already finding myself falling into those old patterns.  I'm embarrassed to go back bec/ I thought I had everything under control pre-surgery...I worry about the counselor being disappointed in me, etc.  Crazy, I know!   Does anyone else on here suffer from this kind of behavior?  If you do, you can message me if you don't want to post a reply...Thanks....
Paul11011
on 11/29/11 4:11 am
You should never feel concerned about your counselor being disappointed in you coming back for more support.  Think of it as providing job security for them.  :)  It's great that you realized you have starting doing things which may lead you down a path which you do not want to go.  Part of this WLS journey is realizing there are limitations to what we can do on our own and knowing that there are ways to get the support we need.  Conratulations on being able to identify your limitations. 
VSG 1-10-2011 Dr. Randal Baker.   www.grandhealthpartners.com

(deactivated member)
on 11/29/11 8:28 am - NY
In addition to providing job security for the therapist, therapists are trained to be non-judgmental.