CPAP after surgery

gaiamist
on 11/10/13 11:14 pm - Windsor, Canada

So, I have been using a CPAP machine for over 10 years. I had major jaw surgery in April 2013 and my pressure was changed from 9 to 6. I am now two months post-op (RNY Sept 5) and I think my pressure is again too high. In fact, I may no longer have sleep apnea but I'm not sure. I know I won't be scheduled for a sleep study for some time. Does anyone have a suggestion for the interim. I was thinking of lowering the pressure again but not sure where to put it. Also, I seem to sleep more or less the same without the machine. It's hard for me to know because I sleep alone. I don't want to discover I still need the support after sleep deprivation. Any input would be helpful.  

Ref June/10; Dr.Treki Jan/11; Orient Jan/2011; SW Mar/11; hiatus Apr-Oct/11; Dietician class Nov/11; SW Nov/12; Dr.Treki Dec/11; psych Jan/12; Dietician Feb/12; SW Mar/12; Surg Ed class May/12; surgeon Aug 24/12 - agreed to refer file to Hamilton for DS               
(deactivated member)
on 11/10/13 11:21 pm - Bumfuknowhere, Canada

Two things you can do.  My CPAP provider will lend me an auto titration machine to use for a few days and then they can tell me what my pressure should be.  The other thing they did prior to having this machine was to give me an oximetry machine to wear on my finger for one night  and they send the data to my sleep doc and he tells me to adjust it or not.  My sleep doc has given me a range of pressure that I am allowed to fool with.  If you are down to 6, you likely could go off it as I believe it's at 5, they told me it was my choice to wear it or not but you could always call your sleep doc's office and ask them what the magic number is to go off it.  I only have to wear mine when my allergies are bad as they make my airways close.

Needanewbeginning
on 11/10/13 11:27 pm - Barrie, Canada
RNY on 05/21/13