Anyone go the private toute?

Sheepie
on 2/14/17 12:42 am
VSG on 05/31/17

Hello all,

I was wondering if anyone here has gone through a private surgeon for gastric bypass instead of through OHIP? I have been looking at Dr. Al-Kassem in Simcoe, but was hoping someone may have some experience with him? Or perhaps a different ptivate surgeon?

fromfattohealthy
on 2/14/17 8:44 am - Canada

I don't have any feedback as I am going through OHIP,  but just curious as to what is influencing your decision to go the private route? :)

5'0 - SW - 240LBS | Lap Band - August 2015| Revision Band to RNY Surgery - May 16, 2017| Opti-fast - 9lbs | G.W - 150LBS | CW - 165LBS |

Sheepie
on 2/14/17 9:17 am
VSG on 05/31/17

Hi there!  I am thinking of going the private route because I am fortunate enough to have the finances to, and my job (I am a nurse at our rural acute care hospital) does not have a lot of flexibility when it comes to taking multiple leaves for appointments. I can certainly take the time off, plus take time for some appointments, but not for a full year. Plus, and let's be honest, I don't think my health can withstand taking a full year to have the procedure done. 

MicheleA
on 2/14/17 12:14 pm

My experience is through Ohip but wanted to tell you it might not take you a year.

I went to the orientation class (which is your first appointment in the clinic) mid June and I had surgery on January 30th of this year. If you are healthy with no medical issue's like diabetes etc, you can easily be fast tracked which I believe I was. I did not hear from the clini****il mid November at which time I started with the appointments. I think I had 4-5 between the various nurses, social worker and internist. That was it other than pre-opp. Viola. It was done!!

Best wishes on whichever route you take.

Patm
on 2/14/17 11:03 am - Ontario, Canada
RNY on 01/20/12