FINALLY!

Maisie87
on 1/9/19 6:25 pm

I finally received an orientation date! January 29th! I'm literally counting down the days!

I have been chasing this surgery for 4 years. I asked my family doctor twice to refer me to the network and he refused both times. The first time he referred me to Dr. Poon, but when I researched what he was about, it sounded like another diet program to fail at. I live quite far from their offices as well, so I never ended up attending. The second time, my doctor talked to me about depression and thought maybe I should try antidepressants to see if it would help me gain control of my habits and supress my appetite. I took Prozac for a few months before stopping because I didn't like the way they made me feel.

I had had my family doctor since birth and he retired in April 2018. I eventually decided to try the walk in clinic to see if I could get a referral from them in September 2018. Again, I got the whole Dr. Poon talk and the talk about nutrients and what I should be eating. At the end of the visit, he did agree to refer me to Bariatric Network, but a few weeks later when I followed up with his office, they informed me that he had actually referred me to Dr. Poon instead. I once again denied the referral. I'm sick of diets and it seems like a short term solution for a long term problem.

I FINALLY got an awesome new family doctor in October 2018 who agreed that the Bariatric Network sounded like a great opportunity for me based on my history. He agreed to refer me and did so November 9th. I was originally referred to TWH, but I called them to be redirected to Humber River because I liked the thought of just getting on and off the 401 for the journey to Toronto because it is about an hour away (with traffic).