Early Stages of Revision

inmyownskin
on 3/27/11 10:59 pm - Westbury, NY
Ok so I got a lapband in July 2007. My HW was 293 and day of surgery was 280.  I currently weigh 255 so I feel this band has failed me.  I get so many stuck episodes but I am so afraid to get unfilled because I do not want to see 280 again.  At this point I feel it is time to get a revision to bypass.  I am working on getting medicaid insurance and once I have it I plan on seeing Dr. Vulpe or his partner at Lutheran Medical Center.  My only concern is that I am a medical student studying away from home.  If medicaid requires me to do the 6 month supervised diet I will have to travel home once a month to do this.  I guess I won't know if the surgeon will perform a revision for me until I see him and what exactly the process is going to be for me.  I just hope to have this surgery by years end because I am so fed up with this band.  It even makes my stomach look weird because the side the port is on bulges out...yuck! Any help or advise from those who have gone thru NY medicaid or gone from band to bypass will be greatly appreciated.  
jemma28
on 3/29/11 5:24 am - Houston, TX
Not sure of NY but I have talked to at least 50 doctors here in Texas and none of them will do a revision/repair on me because they say medicare/medicaid wont pay for revisions.  That might be due to Trailblazer that covers all medicare/medicaid billing.  I'm thinking of going out of state at this point.
Jill

MsBatt
on 3/29/11 5:29 am
MediCARE will pay for revisions, if you qualify. Call Medicare directly.
jemma28
on 3/29/11 7:18 am - Houston, TX