Please share how you researched a surgeon

cowgirlJane
on 8/19/11 1:47 am
I understand that all revisions are higher risk/more complications then original surgery so finding the right surgeon is critical.  I met with a surgeon who came highly recommended to me, but I could not get comfortable as I felt I could never get specific info from him about risks and number of revisions he has done.  I have a failed band and was looking into revision and he told me that the only surgery for me was the RNY becuase I had already failed with a restrictive procedure.  He correctly predicted that my band had slipped and I believe him to be technically competent based on center of excellence and hearing from his patients at a support group, but I really don't want RNY procedure.

I went on hold on the whole topic for 6+ months then I started learning more about the gastric sleeve.  I feel much more comfortable with that surgery and really, it is the only one I am considering.  I understand that it is step one of the DS, so that revision could be possible down the road, but I am just not ready for that step in the near term.  (i am a total baby about medical procedures, all tests and surgeries scare the crud out of me.  I am freaked out about just having my slipped band removed)

Anyway, I found a local surgeon that has a very complete aftercare and support system which I really wanted (didn't get with the band 10 years ago out of country).  People rave about him and he is a genuinly nice guy.  I liked that he was super straight about the higher complication rates for a revision - it shook me up, but I am glad to know that going in....