Band over Bypass...in 3 days

melissaflgirl
on 6/17/12 8:49 am - Fl
 Well, Ive been thinking about this since January...I am now 3 days from my surgery and I am scared and excited..but this isn't my "first rodeo".

In 1998.... I was 380lbs and became a clinical trial for the RNY Gastric Bypass with Silastic Ring.  The ring was being tested to see if it would hold nutrition in the stomach longer for absorbtion.  The RNY worked perfectly...I lost 180lbs.  The ring...well...it has been a problem since 2001.

In 2005, the slipped and strangled my intestine which required surgery.  I barely survived.  I had major complications including a heart attack and bloating of the unused stomach.

I have matained my weight loss for all these years but have not made it to my goal weight.  I am hoping this new restriction is the extra tool in the arsenal that I need to make it to my goal weight.

I know this is going to be difficult...I have been racing triathlon for 12 years since my bypass and I have given up the rest of my season of racing to do this procedure and get to my goal weight.  I have scaled back my workouts but hope to return to swimming, biking and running 2 weeks after surgery.

I guess I am hoping that some of you can give me insight into how you handled the liquids only part of your journey.  Just staying on a baratric diet PRIOR to surgery has been hard.  Any insight would be appreciated!! 

Melissa
JennLyric
on 6/18/12 1:23 am
 Hi Melissa:

I'm on the pre-op shakes now, but my surgery to revise from Lapband to RNY is on 6/29.  This part is SO hard.  I started out by not eating enough in my one meal and I was getting kind of sick.  Almost passed out at Target.  I fixed that problem.

I wish you well in your surgery.  This is not an easy journey, is it??  I'm sure that this will be much smoother than what you went through!

Please keep us updated after your surgery.  You'll do beautifully.

Jennifer
heathercross
on 6/18/12 9:50 am - New York, NY