Anyone a self pay revision patient? is this timing realistic?

butterfly984
on 7/6/13 9:43 am
Revision on 07/27/13

II am seriously considering becoming a self pay patient to get a revision from my lap band to sleeve. I had my lap band done in December 2011 with insurance.  My insurance, Aetna, requires me to wait at least 2 years and follow the 3 or 6 month plan to get approval for revision.  My concern is that it will be another year before I can have revision surgery and I am 10 pounds over my surgery weight.. (I initially lost 43 pounds but then had to get an unfill due to an overfill)  I am a teacher so I can only schedule surgery during the summer or maybe over winter break (although it would have to be perfect timing and I doubt that will happen).  If anyone else was/is a cash pay/self pay patient, how long did it get to get your surgery scheduled?  If I wouldn't be able surgery before September, then I should just wait until next summer.  

Do you think it is realistic to schedule revision surgery in less than 2 months as a self pay patient for a revision?  Or am I being crazy? 

pineview01
on 7/6/13 10:22 am - Davison, MI

You might want to see if your insurance will pay for the band removal.  If so you would only be paying for the sleeve.  Are you having medical issues with the band.  I would think two years to give it a fair shake is about right.  Also I started my 6 month before my band was removed so had that out of the way before appealing for revision.

BAND REMOVED 9-4-12-fought insurance to get sleeve and won! Sleeved 1/22/13! Five years out and trying to get that last 15 pounds back off.

butterfly984
on 7/6/13 10:45 am
Revision on 07/27/13