Revision Result

KathyDallas11
on 7/14/21 7:02 am

I am a 51 year old professional. I had wls August 2014 (sleeve). My lowest wieght was 180. My highest wieght was 291. (Dang I was definitely a Big girl).Currently , I am 235 with a BMI 40.30.

I am moving forward towards revision sugery. However, I confused about only lossing 20 pounds postoperative. Is there any female on this form who had achieved a nomal BMI after revision?

White Dove
on 7/15/21 3:50 pm, edited 7/15/21 8:50 am - Warren, OH

I have been on this forum since 2003. I can recall one person *****vised to RNY and is at about normal BMI. She works very hard at diet and exercise. The weight loss is not from the revision, although that did help her GERD.

The usual 20 pound of revision weight loss is from the pre-op liquid diet and is typical of any revision. Most regain that once they heal from the surgery and go back to their normal eating. After weight loss surgery there is bounceback regain in year three of approximately 20 pounds. By year five about 50% of people have regained about 40 to 50 pounds. By year ten, regain is even higher. After the effect of surgery wears off, the only way to maintain weight loss is fewer calories in and more calories burned.

The 100 pound or more weight loss that follows the initial surgery is a once-in-a-lifetime occurrence. It does not happen with revisions.

Real life begins where your comfort zone ends

Leslie2016
on 7/26/21 3:48 pm

Hi, Is that 20 pounds even with an RNY to Switch revision? Im 16 years out from RNY, lost 100, bounced back 10, 10 from meopause and now the pandemic has gifted me 40 more. Ugh!! I see my surgeon tomorrow and will post what he says.

White Dove
on 7/26/21 5:40 pm, edited 7/26/21 10:41 am - Warren, OH