OT: emotional smackdown

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 4/14/11 1:41 pm - OH
In two weeks, it will be the "anniversary" of a very violent sexual assault I suffered several years ago, so right now is a very stressful time for me.  I still see my therapist every other week or so (yes, even after several years) after a number of years of seing her almost every week.  Tonight she informed me that, due to family issues, she will be retiring early.... in a couple of months.  She knew that it would be a difficult thing for me to hear, but she wanted to give me as much notice as possible.  She told the other therapists in the office late last week but asked them not to mention it to anyone else (they will need to find a new therapist to rent her space****il she had told two of her clients.  I was the first client she told, partly because -- since I am also a therapist in the area -- she wanted to make sure I heard it from her rather than through the grapevine.

So, basically, although I completely understand why she needs to retire, I still feel a little like I have been kicked in the gut.  I am not exaggerating when I say that, if it were not for her, I would have committed suicide during the first year or two after the attack.  "Losing" her is going to be hard.

So... the first thing I did when I got home from my session with her tonight.... was eat enough Haagen Dazs strawberry ice cream that I started to feel the early signs of dumping (and it takes a lot of sugar to make me dump).  So now I am disappointed in myself for that immediate -- and almost instinctual and unconscious -- response to turn to food for comfort.  I know, it was just one slip... it's just frustrating to know that even after almost 4 years of trying to be very aware of what I eat and why, and to be sure that I am NOT eating for ANY emotional reasons, that repsonse is still there lurking in the back of my brain.

Pffft. 

Lora

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained