How are vitamins handled while in the hospital?

princessfrogee
on 5/17/11 10:03 pm - AL
What was recommended regarding having your vitamins while in the hospital?  Do you bring your own with you?  Do they give you theirs while there?  Or is it not worried about so soon post-op?

"When you know better, you do better." ~Maya Angelou~

BW 334.4 / CW: 227 / GW 180             
poet_kelly
on 5/17/11 10:08 pm - OH
I think they usually say to just start them when you go home.  You'll only be in the hospital a day or two.

They will have any prescription meds you need, though, related to surgery or not.  Like, they gave me my antidepressants while I was in the hospital along with pain meds.

If you're worried about it, ask your doc if they will give you your vitamins and if not, if it's OK if you bring your own.  Same with protein drinks.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Kimanne01
on 5/17/11 10:08 pm

The hospital gave me my vitamins on the second and third day.  I would ask your doctor though to be sure.

Stacemonster
on 5/17/11 10:15 pm
I didn't start any vitamins until a week after surgery (per my surgeon's plan).  I wouldn't worry about them at all. 

princessfrogee
on 5/17/11 10:37 pm - AL
Ok thank you!

ahmerzrealm
on 5/17/11 10:58 pm - Naperville, IL
Do you take any meds ? Cuz they will give them to you while you are in the hospital. They are usually crushed and mixed in water. That stuff is super bitter.

See if they can mix it in some crystal light for you. The sweetness helps cut down the bitterness.
princessfrogee
on 5/18/11 3:55 am - AL