I need advice bad!

mbrown1
on 7/17/12 7:30 am - sunbury, OH
Almost 3 years out and feel hungry all the time. I was at goal but have gained 10 lbs. Im freaking out. what can I do?

poet_kelly
on 7/17/12 7:36 am - OH
What are you eating?  Are you drinking with meals?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Ladytazz
on 7/17/12 7:49 am
Has anything changed, either with the way you are eating or in your life in general?  Or is this just completely out of the blue.  With my first WLS I was always hungry but that was pretty much from the beginning.  I still managed to lose weight for the first 2 years in spite of the way I was eating but by the third year I was on my way up, although it took several more years to eat my way back up to obesity and then morbid obesity.  My surgeon told me that if a patient tells him that they are no longer hungry then that is the best outcome he can hope for.
Sometimes it is hard to know if the hunger is physical or mental.  For me there was no doubt that my hunger was physical.  I don't know why but I was always ravenously hungry, from the time I could remember and WLS did nothing to change that.  With my revision I don't have hunger and I think that is for a couple of reasons.  One, my surgeon removed my remnant stomach so all I have is my pouch and none of the ghrelin producing stomach left.  Two, I totally avoid sugar and gluten and I believe that I am sensitive to items containing those things and eating things with them make me crave them more, kind of like an alcoholic craves more alcohol once he starts drinking it.

WLS 10/28/2002 Revision 7/23/2010

High Weight  (2002) 240 Revision Weight (2010) 220 Current Weight 115.

mbrown1