What is the optimum D3 Level?

Shirley O.
on 9/9/12 5:11 pm - NM
Mine was 73 at one year out.  Thanks for feedback.
Shirley
HW 280, SW--240, CW--145 
(deactivated member)
on 9/9/12 5:17 pm
I don't know if this is the same post-op as it is pre-op but they found I had vitamin D deficiency before surgery and prescribed a really high dose vitamin D. I was just re-tested this week (again pre-op still) and mine was 29. The nurse told me a normal level was between 30-100.
poet_kelly
on 9/9/12 6:12 pm - OH
According to the Linus Pauling Institute, we need it to be at least 80, otherwise we're at higher risk for stuff like osteoporosis, heart disease and some kinds of cancer.  29 is super low.  I would take a high dose of D3 (the prescription stuff is D3 and it's not absorbed well).  You're still extremely deficient.  You can order 50,000 IU D3 from vitalady.com.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

(deactivated member)
on 9/9/12 9:47 pm
Interesting. Thanks Kelly! The dr had me on 50,000IU once a week for 2 months. How often would you take the 50,000 to raise it up even more? Now he has me on 4,000IU daily
poet_kelly
on 9/10/12 4:50 am - OH
When my vitamin D level was only 25, I took 50,000 IU once a DAY for a couple of months to get it up around 100.  But I took 50,000 IU D3 - if you were taking the prescription stuff, that's D2 and the body has to convert D2 into D3 and it takes a lot of D2 to make a little D3.  I would not bother with D2 at all.