maybe someone can help?

ashleym6888
on 10/3/12 2:18 pm - CA
RNY on 08/30/12 with
im going on 5 weeks post op. on monday night i was having severe pain on my right kidney and had signs of urinary tract infection. the er doctor said it was likely i passed a kidney stone due to the amount of blood in my urine. i was very nausous that day and have been since. i can't eat anything because im so nausous so drinking my protein and water. i also think im very constipated i haven't gone since the beginning of the weekend. anybody have similar problems. i think im so nausous because im constipated and i have gas pains but i can't go. anyone recommend a good stool softner or laxative? or can tell me their experiences with kidney stones after wls/ rny.
thanks! also i still haven't lost a lb since my 3rd week post op.
Kelly L.
on 10/3/12 2:24 pm - San Jacinto, CA
 Oh, that sucks! I have no knowledge about the kidney stones but.. Colace might help you go potty...jeesh, hope you feel better soon!

HW 274. CW 129

Ladytazz
on 10/3/12 2:46 pm
My surgeon said Milk of Magnesia was okay to use after surgery.  I also take Miralax daily and I still have issues with constipation.  Stool softeners should be fine, too. I don't have any problems with kidney stones so I can't help you there but I know that dehydration can cause nausea so try and get your fluids.  Ask your doctor for something for the nausea if it doesn't get better.  

WLS 10/28/2002 Revision 7/23/2010

High Weight  (2002) 240 Revision Weight (2010) 220 Current Weight 115.

BugdocMom
on 10/3/12 3:31 pm - CA
Milk of Magnesia is good for getting things going quickly then daily doses (I take 1/2 dose a day in a hot beverage) of Miralax (or the generic) will keep you regular after you fix the problem.
Susan2012
on 10/3/12 5:35 pm
 I use smooth move tea. Available at GNC. Also take 2 colace.. Works good for me. 

Jen V.
on 10/3/12 6:08 pm - Waterford Township, MI
RNY on 06/29/12

I also like smooth move tea.

mg220