Anyone else cook for a living?

Melissa Nicely
on 1/27/13 9:34 am - Chesapeake, OH
RNY on 05/06/13

I am hoping to have my surgery in March. I was wondering if anyone else works in a kitchen or around food all day? Did you have to switch jobs after your surgery? How soon after your surgery did you go back to work? How did you manage to be around all the food with your diets? Where I work we have to taste everything that we cook, plus taste what other people and the chef cook so that we can reproduce it. Am I going to have to find a new job after my surgery?

poet_kelly
on 1/27/13 10:09 am - OH

Tasting everything may be a problem.  How many calories does that add up to in a day?  I mean, are there lots of things you have to taste or just a couple things each day?  Are some of the things you need to taste really high in sugar?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Laura in Texas
on 1/27/13 10:17 am

A friend of mine is a chef and had the DS because of the reasons you stated. She did not want the surgery to interfere with her job.

Laura in Texas

53 years old; 5'7" tall; HW: 339 (BMI=53); GW: 140 CW: 170 (BMI=27)

RNY: 09-17-08 Dr. Garth Davis

brachioplasty: 12-18-09 Dr. Wainwright; lbl/bl: 06-28-11 Dr. LoMonaco

"May your choices reflect your hopes and not your fears."

maryottawa
on 1/27/13 10:20 am - Canada