Newbie - Scared of Surgeon?

Maggie73
on 5/20/13 4:29 am - Burleson, TX
VSG on 07/22/13

This is my first time posting but I have a question...OK, maybe two...lol

I have an appointment with a surgeon to see about getting RNY on Wednesday. I have come across some reviews that he isn't personable (in other words, you never see him after the consult) and that he gives very little pain meds after the procedure in an effort to get you up and walking sooner. Should I keep my appointment and just address these concerns with him? Or should I cancel and find another doctor?

Also, how long from the first appointment do you have the surgery?

Thanks for any info you can provide :)

~ Maggie  (Age: 40  Height: 5'7")    

SURGERY DATE: 7/22/2013

START: 254.6 - SURGERY: 246.4 - GOAL: 160 - CURRENT: 155  

cajungirl
on 5/20/13 6:38 am, edited 5/20/13 6:40 am

I would go to the consult and talk to him.  Personally, I wanted a very skilled surgeon with lots of surgeries under his belt and few complications.  My surgeon was an excellent cutter; he didn't have the best bedside manners but he wasn't rude either.

If you aren't comfortable with him after the consult then research others surgeons in your area and go from there. 

Time from apt to surgery varies depending on what test are needed, how long it takes the surgeon's office to submit to insurance, how long it takes for the insurance company to approve, ask for more information or deny.  If denied, find out why and appeal if your insurance pays for WLS; if you have an exclusion then it's usually iron clad and unless you can get the HR division of the company providing the insurance to make an exception then self pay is usually the only option.

Some of us are self pay....which happens very quickly.  Just too many variables to know how long it will take.

Oh and some insurance companies require a 6-12 month pre-op diet before approval so this may/may not play into how long it takes also.

Proximal RNY Lap - 02/21/05