Lapband revison to Gastric Bypass

Melanie C.
on 9/14/13 1:07 am

I had lapband surgery almost 5 years ago. It has not been a success for me. My surgeon has recommended I have gastric bypass. Has anyone here had a revision from lapband to gastric bypass and if so, How was the transition for you? I really want to have this lapband taken out, but I am afraid of gaining all the weight back. I'm nervous about going through the changes of the surgery and having to relearn to eat. Can anyone help me and tell me your experience?

poet_kelly
on 9/14/13 4:13 am - OH

I was not a revision myself, but there are a number of former banders here and I'm sure some will respond.  Unfortunately, it's pretty common that the band doesn't work or it causes problems and people need revisions.  I'm sorry you have to deal with that.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

rosie_mari
on 9/14/13 4:19 am