Mommy Guilt

changingmomma
on 10/21/13 12:00 pm
Has anyone experienced mommy (or daddy) guilt when going to the gym? I have an almost 2 year old and she is at the "I only want my mom and dad" stage. When I drop her off at the daycare at the gym she screams and cries for me. It literally breaks my heart into a million pieces. I am home with her mon-fri so she never had to go to daycare. I know going to the gym is for me AND her- but I just can't get past how bad I feel leaving her while I work out. I guess this is more of a rant, but has anyone else experienced this?
poet_kelly
on 10/21/13 12:05 pm - OH

Does she cry the whole time she's at the daycare?  It's pretty common for kids at that age to cry when first dropped off or left with a babysitter, but most of them stop crying almost immediately after mom is gone and then end up having a pretty good time.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

angeleigh
on 10/21/13 12:23 pm - angier, NC
RNY on 09/17/12

My son used to do that for the first 5-10 mins after that he got over it and had a ball. After a while they look forward to going. It is really good for them to have play time with other kids and not having the security blanket of mom or dad right there. It helps with the coping skills and learning to interact with others. I put my son in soccer at age 3 because of this, and then at 5 he wanted to learn to tumble so he did that until he was 12. Now he has no issues talking to people or being around others or girls for that matter.