5000 iu D3 softjels are fine

browneyes65
on 12/26/13 2:13 am - IN

I talked to nutritionist and she told me those are fine to take.

poet_kelly
on 12/26/13 2:18 am - OH

The issue is that they have oil inside, and oil is a fat, and RNY patients malabsorb fats.  That means you won't absorb vitamins full that are in oil.  You'll absorb some of it, just not all of it.  It might be fine with your nutritionist if you don't absorb the full amount of D3 in those soft gels.  Is that OK with you?  See, it wouldn't be OK with me because I want to know I am absorbing as much as possible.  But the important things is whether or not that's fine with you.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

browneyes65
on 12/26/13 3:05 am - IN

I did some research to and found out that they were not good for weight loss patients. I don't know why she would say that.

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 12/26/13 7:56 am - OH

The unfortunate fact is that many nutritionists aren't well educated about post-RNY nutrition and vitamin supplementation.  She may not know that we malabsorb fat (I would hope she would, but have heard of NUTs that dont know other basic things about RNY!) or she may not know that the soft gels have oil in them (unlikely, I would think).  Most likely, she simply hasn't put two and two together to realize that, because of those things, these aren't a good choice for us.

Even if someone doesn't mind not absorbing all of it, the bigger problem is that there is no way to know how much you ARE absorbing, so you have no idea what your actual necessary dose is which can be problematic if you switch to a dry D3 pill.

Lora

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained