RNY what keeps you from regaining?

JA
on 1/18/16 3:11 am - East Haven, CT

After 11 1/2 years, I am a veteran for sure LOL.  I have kept my weight off.  I allow myself 1-3 lbs up and then I buckle down.  What helps to keep it off?  Remembering that WLS is NOT  A CURE for obesity; it's just a tool to allow you to lose weight like all other folks who do not have a severe obesity problem like we do.  Never forget that if you return to "bad" habits,  you WILL regain your weight.  It actually hurts to overeat in the beginning.  Some folks eat through that and eventually, it doesn't hurt.  So some advice to you as a newbie, don't take sugar back; don't eat rice, pasta, bread, etc. on a regular basis.  Remember to count your calories.  The first two years after WLS are a honeymoon period and you will lose weight very easily.  After that, it's not easy.  And let me not forget to never stop exercising; even if it's just walking - keep moving.  Calories in calories out :D

Best of luck!

JA

CerealKiller Kat71
on 1/18/16 6:51 am
RNY on 12/31/13

At two years, I am not a vet.  However, my answer to your question is HARD WORK and dedication.  I weigh and measure everything.  I log everything I eat.  I never eat more than 40 grams of carbs.  

"What you eat in private, you wear in public." --- Kat

(deactivated member)
on 1/18/16 7:08 am

A vet is someone that got something done awhile ago. A mentor is someone who uses any and all of their knowledge to assist others in their endeavors.

I am a veteran of the U.S.M.C., so I know many vets. I've met maybe 5 actual mentors in my 49 years of life. YOU are a mentor Kat. That is not me paying you some compliment, that is a fact. It's written into your DNA to be this.

Thank you.

CerealKiller Kat71
on 1/18/16 7:12 am
RNY on 12/31/13

Thank you Gary.

"What you eat in private, you wear in public." --- Kat

The Salty Hag
on 1/18/16 7:28 am
RNY on 05/20/13

Exactly this.

I woke up in between a memory and a dream...

Tom Petty