Help! HAVE to quit smoking in a month! What did you do?

Terri70
on 1/9/17 11:13 am

Yes, I smoke. If you're going to be mean to be, just pass on by this post. I've heard most of it all and I came here for help, not judgements. I'm pre-op, with RNY to happen in May or June. I have to quit at least 3 months before the surgery or they will cancel it. I'm having such a hard time. I'm back on Chantix, and vaping. I bought a pack of cigs yesterday. I CAN'T for the life of me (quite literally) quit. I don't know what else to do. I have absolutely NO willpower. I'm frustrated and very depressed because of it. And the worst part is that 95% of the people I'm around are non-smokers and they don't understand. They think it's easy, simple and are not very supportive. I've been smoking for going on 34 years and have been smoking a pack and a half a day for most of it. I know all the reasons I need to quit, but when it comes down to it.... well I give in. And keep giving in. I feel like such a failure.

Can anyone give me some insights into what will help me get into the right frame of mind?

(deactivated member)
on 1/9/17 11:32 am
RNY on 09/22/16

No one can make you stop but yourself. You have to really want to stop. And yes I did smoke and then stop smoking. Addictive behavior is addictive behavior no matter what the vice. Once you really want to stop you will stop. Its the same as losing weight, once you really want to eat correctly, you will.

Sorry if that's not what you are looking for. There is no easy answer.

Ceci

(deactivated member)
on 1/9/17 1:31 pm

RNY is about getting healthy.  Smoking is an oxymoron to RNY.  Get over it!  Quit today!  I did it cold turkey 30 years ago (2 packs a day) and never went back.  You can too!

pammieanne
on 1/9/17 11:32 am - OK
RNY on 05/16/16

I quit smoking several times (LOL)... it IS the hardest thing to do ever. Period.