Hiatal Hernia repair while doing RNY, 2 days post op

Sssmck
on 1/25/17 10:17 am
RNY on 01/23/17

Hi everyone :D I'm a newbie here, but have had lots of luck with groups like this in the past for other topics/etc. 

Wondering if anyone has any tips on how long I have to sleep sitting up since my surgeon found a hiatal hernia when she was doing my RNY Monday and repaired it. I am almost afraid of laying down LOL The first night's rest back at home was remarkable though... so glad to be home! 

Also - I've read that some people don't have to crush their meds for the first few weeks, buy my doc requires it. Wondering if there are any tips/tricks. After 3 weeks of doing this I'm thinking I may never want to eat again given how many meds I'll have to be crushing! (two allergy, two hbp meds, one high cholesterol, two SSRIs... and a partridge in a pear tree). Any tips are so very welcome! Can't believe this process is finally to this stage - excited, nervous and interested to see where this journey takes me! Took a full year to get the insurance requirements done and didn't feel like it'd ever be here! 

odie
on 1/25/17 10:37 am
RNY on 05/26/14

I had my very large hernia repaired also but I wasn't given any of your rules!  My took my medication, one or two at a time with water.  Never had to crush them and I had no problems but that's just me!!  And even in the hospital, I was laying flat without problems except I usually sleep on my side.  

To Thine Own Self Be True!!

Sssmck
on 1/25/17 10:40 am
RNY on 01/23/17

Thanks! I had a feeling that it would vary... I'm tempted to try to take the pills... especially the extended release one that I CAN'T crush. Have a message into surgeon about that one at least. I also sleep on my back and my sides... tempted to try a nap low and on my back since I'm not in much pain at this point. We'll see how brave I get LOL 

odie
on 1/25/17 10:43 am
RNY on 05/26/14