Lexapro after VSG...

farewell2fat
on 10/25/10 12:04 am - Apopka, FL
 Although Lexapro has helped me with anxiety, I know for sure it has helped me pack on the pounds!! Not completely blaming Lexapro for my weight, because I was overweight prior, but it sure didn't help the situation. I know that weight gain is a common side effect w/Lexapro & drugs of the same class. I have spoken to my PCP about this & have tried out a different medication w/no success. Anyone else ever been in this situation & have any advice to offer?? I need to take something, but just not something that is counterproductive to weight loss. 

HopeRestored
on 10/25/10 12:20 am
Hello,

I am a Nurse Practitioner and I know that Lexapro is one of them that causes the LEAST weight gain with Paxil being oneof the worst.  It is a really good medicaiton so I would encourage you to stay on that one if you have to have one.

bekahler
on 10/25/10 12:41 am - Parkville, MD
 My shrink also said Lexapro is one of the better ones with regards to weight gain...

I only skipped one day of it since surgery...no problems taking it in pill form either, btw.

Good luck to you...
"There are no Strangers Here, Only Unmet Friends" ~Helen Keller        

VeraG
on 10/25/10 1:23 am - Bonner Springs, KS
I only skipped my lexapro the day of surgery as well.  I haven't had any issues and I'm losing.

Living until I die!

Beautiful_day
on 10/25/10 1:50 am
I heard that some people do not take Lexapro after they are on the losers bench. Wouldn't that be great?
Spiritus
on 10/25/10 2:07 am - Hawthorne, CA
Although I am on a different med, I am happy to read that there are others out there with the Sleeve who are still able to take meds.  I am on Effexor now, but am feeling like I need to add my valium back to the regimen. 

LabMomma
on 10/25/10 2:21 am
VSG on 09/27/10 with