Deciding between bypass and sleeve... Are you happy with your decision?

Michelle10929
on 2/10/12 10:27 am - NC
I have my first meeting with the surgeon on 2/22. I went into the information session thinking I was going to go with the sleeve, but now I'm just not 100%.

I'm curious if any of you wish that you would have gone with the bypass, and why? Or, are you totally in love with the decision you made.. and why.

I understand the risks and restrictions between the two, but I would really like to hear first hand from real people.

I have read that there aren't a lot of the same restrictions like the bypass but then the flipside is that the results aren't as great.

Excited but torn.. and I need to make a decision!

Thanks everyone :)
Maria P.
on 2/10/12 10:33 am
VSG on 01/09/12
I never considered the bypass since I am a relative lightweight, but so far I love my sleeve. I'm still learning how to adjust to it at a month out but I woul definitely do it again, no regrets!
5'3"  Age 38

HW: 216
Month 1: 20.6
Michelle10929
on 2/10/12 10:45 am - NC
We're similar.. I'm 40/5'3/220...
I've already gotten from a friend "but you're not that big!"
Yah well I tell myself that a lot, and then I tell myself... "well yah Michelle, you kinda are." LOL
Maria P.
on 2/10/12 10:54 am
VSG on 01/09/12
Yeah, in my mind I'm not a "lightweight", but members of this forum consider our weights to be so. It's good that we're doing something about it now rather than later though!
5'3"  Age 38

HW: 216
Month 1: 20.6
Ms. Poker Face
on 2/10/12 10:44 am
I LOVE my sleeve and I especially love that it allowed me to keep my pyloric valve.  That's the thing at the bottom of the stomach that holds solid foods in the stomach while digestion is starting.  RNYers don't get to keep theirs and food tends to slide through easier.