Have surgery date

pebbles049
on 6/9/12 1:28 pm - PA
Finally a date.  It took almost a year and a half but I'm close.  Now my problem is work.  I dont care to share to much business with them but some I have to.  The scheduling person is real nosey and can downright nasty.  she enjoys gossip.  I need to come up with something to tell my boss if they should ask what kind of surgery.  I am a nurse and work in a nursing home.  They will not be happy with me taking off for surgery because we are down nurses and me having surgery at another time when staff is around is just not gonna happen as I plan on switching my work schedule 2  weeks after suprise..  They tried to tell someone she couldnt have leave for another kind of surgery.  Please help any suggestions.  What has worked for others .  I am so nervous about telling them of this surgery.  thanks

Bf516
on 6/9/12 1:35 pm
 My 1st surgery I used family medical leave 4-6 wks.
All my paper from the doc said was recovery for surgery & the time frame.

Family med leave is used by many in the states.
I know there are many rules that your employer has to follow but unsure if they are able to question you about the type of surgery.
You may want to read into it a lil'.
happiegirl
on 6/9/12 1:40 pm - Albuquerque, NM
VSG on 04/24/12
Hi..all you have to do is contact HR. They will tell your boss its FMLA and that's all. If they give out your medical information it would be illegal.

HW: 351 Pre-op: 272  Current: 140.7 Goal:160      M1:14 M2:14  M3:11  M4:10 M5:10  M6:12  M7:8  M8:6 M9: 6 M10:7 M11: 6 M12: 4 M13: 5 M14:7 M15: 4 M16: 3 M17: 1   M18: 4

"Glory lies in the attempt to reach one's goal and not in reaching it." - Gandhi

amberkokette
on 6/9/12 1:54 pm
VSG on 06/28/12