Loving yourself-bit of a rant

RHCP
on 8/14/12 8:13 am - Poughkeepsie, NY

I was a heavy kid, not fat but heavy. When I graduated high school I was a size 16. Growing up I was teased and bullied every day. My mother drove me to and from school until 9th grade because the kids would tease me and chase me from the bus and threaten to beat me up. I truly felt I was the fattest thing on the planet and completely worthless human being. Convincing myself that of course there is something wrong with me for kids and teachers to make fun of me and tell me how disgusting I was.  College was much better but that's when I started gaining more weight. I still had no self-worth and as the weight kept piling on and after a long bad relationship break-up I was at a all time low. I started therapy and it helped immensely...and of course after surgery and the weight coming off I finally see my self-worth. And although my self-worth is at a all time high...I can still struggle with loving myself. I mean I was programmed to 38 years to hate everything about myself.