How long does it take to get approved for surgery?

on 8/27/12 5:35 pm - NE
I'm just beginning this process, but have been knocking around some kind of WLS for about 12 years, all the while trying to do it myself, and tolerating more and more pain the more time goes by.  Now, I've made up my mind, and I'm going for it!  Hope the surgeon agrees.  My GP certainly does.  She would be my best friend if she wasn't my doctor!

Could you all share with me how long it took to get your approval for surgery?

I've recently had a few tests that I think are required; cardiac stress test, pulmonary test, diabetes test.  I haven't met with the surgeon yet to find out what other tests are required, but that's coming up.  I know the psych test is one of them.  Others?

I talked to my insurance company and their guidelines are that I have to (1) meet the criteria, (2) have a psych evaluation, and (3) have been a member of Weigh****chers or Jenny Craig or similar in the last year.  I couldn't believe that last one!  Like I'm going to go out and waste one more penny or minute of my time on that sort of disappointment-again!

Would appreciate it if you could share your pre-surgery process.
MzJ0nes
on 8/27/12 5:43 pm - NY
VSG on 09/04/12
 I had to do 6 months of weight management with my nut, psych eval, ultrasound, amd varous bloodwork, ekg, and an xray. After i had everything i got approval from my insurance 3days after submitting the documents. My surgery is next tuesday. Good luck with your journey!
Jewelz13
on 8/27/12 5:48 pm - TX
Bariatric consultation
Psychiatric evaluation
6 months doctor supervised weight loss program
Nutrition consultation
2 medical documents from two previous years showing BMI over 40( no comorbidities)
Once submitted it took 5 days to hear back. Approved!!

on 8/27/12 5:57 pm - NE