Diabetics

Pollyanna16
on 9/26/12 11:35 pm
VSG on 12/28/12
Ree, thanks so much. Very helpful. Looking forward to being a loser!

christinahelena
on 9/26/12 3:29 pm - CA
Hi, I have type 2 and am pre op. Hou don't mention what meds you are on, but when I was pg I believe they told me 50 was getting dangerously low...think at 40 you could be in diabetic coma range ( any nurses ior mds want to chime in on that? I am NOT a medical professional, just my foggy memory) so... Please do not wait to address this issue with a doctor ASAP as it is nothing to fool around with. You could pass out while driving. Do you feel it when it is getting low? I have had 2 low episodes where I started sweating and felt very shaky. If you don't already, carry glucose tabs with you. I was only on insulin while pg, normally I am on metformin and was on byetta injections too and never got those lows. Shoot for low levels of HIGH glycemic carbs, white bread, flour products, sugar, and maybe keep in complex carbs, whole grains,fruit and legumes and of course veggies . And see your dr about adjusting your meds. If on insulin , you need insulin primarily for the carb part of your meals, if you cut the carb part out you are not raising your blood sugar so much with just protein. It is carbs and quantity that raise sugars. Stands to reason then, you will need insulin adjusted down and instructions on when to take if you eat a higher carb meal. They may take you off long acting if you are on long acting insulin, to the quicker acting and taking it only with meals...so it is complicated and you need a DOCTOR to make sure you are safe. PleAse see one asap and let us know h ow you are doing.
Kind Regards,
Christina
Pollyanna16
on 9/27/12 12:00 am
VSG on 12/28/12
Christina,  Yes, I can tell when it's coming on ,I hit about 80, that is when I eat,  Only had a couple of 50ish, on unusual situations.

When is your surgery? Please let me know how it's going.  Best of luck and prayers for your surgery.