Baggy Skin - YUCK!

Alice M.
on 2/18/13 1:15 am - Taylor, MI
VSG on 12/03/12
I went to Fitness USA today (the 3rd time!!!!) and as I was using the weights I looked in the wall of mirrors and discovered that even my KNEES are baggy now. I knew that I will have excess skin, but come on, my knees!?!? Then I looked at my arms and yup you guessed it...all wrinkly too. Now you have to understand I am 65 and really not too surprised by this, but it still hurts a little. But then I realize that I have never worn tanks or shorts, so this won't be that much of a problem. I'm just glad I am on the way to a better healthier me. I have lost 70 lbs so far and couldn't be happier.

Now for some food for thought for those of you wondering if you are making the best choice. I am a veteran of weight loss. I lost 65 lbs in my 40's and my skin shrunk and I looked great. Of course it didn't last. I gained it back and then some. I again lost 65 lbs. (seems to be my limit which is why I'm so excited to be at 70 lbs now) in my late 50's and I felt great, but...my skin DIDN'T shrink so much. Before then I never really thought about it, but now I understand that I had played with my skin too much to expect it to get back in shape. Now at 65 I know that it will not shrink or tighten up without plastics. I wasted so much time and so many chances to get fit and look better naturally and I am so sorry I didn't get smarter sooner. If you are considering this surgery and are young enough to benefit now...do it. I know there will be excess skin with large weight loss, but the texture of your skin changes over the years and as you get older there really isn't much elasticity and even with plastics its not the same.

How many of us have said "I wish I had done this 10 years ago!" Well so do I. Use the baggy skin issue as another reason to have VSG now and get on with a better healthier life.
Thanks for listening.
Alice