Nervous about starting liquid diet Wednesday.

lessofme123
on 5/17/14 10:59 pm

First of all, thank you everyone for you encouragement.  I was almost ready to back out but I think I can go through with this now.

I start my liquid diet in two days and I am worried that I wont be able to stay on it. I can't imagine not eating for two weeks! I am supposed to drink three protien shakes a day and supplement with clear liquids. I am also allowed to eat plain oatmeal or cream of wheat. Those of you that have gone through this, is it as horrible as I think it will be? I'll have to do this over Memorial Day weekend too. I wonder if I will be able to function at my job. I'm a teacher, and the kids can really wear you down at the end of the year. Any advice?

tdallison
on 5/18/14 12:44 am - TX
VSG on 08/26/13

You can do this. Just keep reminding yourself it is only 2 weeks when compared to a new and healthier life 😉

Toni Dallison

"I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength" Phil. 4:13

Mac333
on 5/18/14 12:45 am
VSG on 04/24/14 with

The first day or two can be a challenge but after that it really isn't that tough. I did my pre op liquid diet over Easter weekend and had no trouble. You can do this! Keep your goal in sight...the purpose of this is to shrink your fatty liver and make the surgery easier . As the liver shrinks it gives the Dr.  more space to operate. Good luck!

Mac    HW  234   SW   204.8   CW   190     M1  

" The favors of the Lord are not exhausted,His merices are not spent; they are renewed every morning so great is His faithfulness"     

Lamentations 3:22-23

(deactivated member)
on 5/18/14 3:17 am

I won't lie to you - I did not have to do a pre op liquid diet. I did have to lose 10% of my body weight prior to surgery though. Anyway, I only had to do one day of clear liquids the day before surgery, so take what I have to say keeping that in mind.