not getting enough liquids

lessofme123
on 7/6/14 9:02 pm

I am almost 5 weeks out and am still having trouble getting in enough liquids. I usually manage to get around 30-40 oz a day, occasionally I get 48 oz. I am beginning to feel weak and dry. Any suggestions? It is hard because of not being allowed to drink 30 minutes before or 60 minutes after I eat, plus I am not able to drink much at a time. Sometimes it makes me nauseous to drink too. I have started taking an acid reducer which has helped some with the nausea. 

katym
on 7/6/14 10:19 pm - PA

Hi Lessofme123,

Have you been in touch with your doctor recently? I am concerned. I am not a medical professional, but your consistently low fluid intake and weakness could mean you need IV fluids to prevent serious dehydration and complications, especially in hot summer weather.  

After checking with professionals, my suggestions are pretty basic: think of water as a necessary medicine or your new job, not an optional activity; make it convenient, never leave the house without a liter water bottle, even keep water by your bed so you can have a few sips each time you wake up in the night. Getting in enough fluid and protein is always challenging in the first few weeks so please do not think I am saying it should be easy.

Stay healthy.

All the best,Katy

consult weight 241 (had not been accurately weighed for over 10 years, my medical records just said "wheelchair") high weight was probably closer to 260. 

lessofme123
on 7/6/14 11:16 pm

Thanks. I will contact my doctor today. I do feel like I might need some IV fluids. I have been trying to increase my fluids but just am not having much success. 

goleftoklahoma
on 7/6/14 11:00 pm
VSG on 01/24/14

I've been going to sonic 1 or 2x daily and getting 44oz LemonBerry water.  It's just a few cut up strawberries with lemon wedges but it goes down easily and really helps me get in my fluids.  Good luck!

lessofme123
on 7/6/14 11:18 pm