Is VSG right for me?

MissB7
on 1/6/16 5:07 am

I am considering VSG.. 5ft even HW249 CW249 I have Fibromyalgia,Gerd,Migraines,PTSD, and a few other issues. I would like to be here for my kids and enjoy life. I go for Consultation this month and I am nervous.

I am new to any form of help. Please let me know your thoughts and how things went for you. 

Tracy D.
on 1/6/16 7:03 am - Papillion, NE
VSG on 05/24/13

VSG is typically contraindicated for someone with GERD because the surgery can make the problem much worse.  Now if your GERD is caused by a hiatial hernia that can be fixed during the surgery, you might do better. 

It's not the end of the world if you have to go with RNY rather than VSG. Listen carefully to your doctor, read all the information you can, and make sure you are brutally honest with him about all your other medical issues.  

Good luck! 

Tracy  5'3"     HW: 235  SW: 218  CW: 132    M1: -22  M2: -13  M3: -12  M4: -9  M5: -8   M6: -10   M7: -4

Goal reached in 7 months and 1 week

Lower Body Lift w/Dr. Barnthouse 7-8-15

White Dove
on 1/6/16 7:24 am - Warren, OH

I had RNY and love what the surgery did for me.  At 67 years old, I am full of energy and wear size 4 jeans that are a little loose.  The brand I love most does not come in a 2.

Living life free from excess weight has been a wonderful gift.  For most people GERD is cured by RNY.  After the surgery I have never been hungry again.  For the first years, I was never hungry and what I did eat was not completely absorbed by my body.  Weight loss was very easy.  Not absorbing food is a gift of RNY for the first few years.

Now at eight years out I absorb more of my food but hunger has never returned.  I am still content with small meals.  I still track my food and weigh daily.  I wear a fitness tracker and track my exercise, calories, and sleep.  I am looking forward to many healthy and happy years ahead.

Real life begins where your comfort zone ends

psychoticparrot
on 1/6/16 7:44 am