Guillermo Alvarez

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 4.97448979592 out of 5 with 981 ratings

Guillermo Alvarez Bariatric Surgeon MD

Guillermo Alvarez Bariatric Surgeon Picture

15 yr in Bariatrics

15 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

15 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

100% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 11

Max Age of Patient is 75


Brandi Carter Profile Pic
Brandi Carter
Patient Coordinator
Rosie Flores Profile Pic
Rosie Flores
Patient Coordinator
Lourdes Carranza Profile Pic
Lourdes Carranza
Personal Assistant

981 Reviews for Guillermo Alvarez
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

I am writing this review to encourage anyone considering bariatric surgery to trust Dr. Alvarez and his team at the Endobariatric Hospital. I am beyond grateful for the quality of life Dr. A and his team have given back to me. I had my surgery on August 3, 2020 amidst the uncertainty of the pandemic, and couldn’t be happier that I did. With some additional precautions while travelling, my trip was made seamless and I was immediately comforted by the warmth and knowledge of Dr. Alvarez upon arriving at the Endo hospital. The facilities are beautiful and utterly spotless, making the surgery feel more like a vacation than a procedure. Every employee and team member I came in contact with was lovely and made my recovery time enjoyable. Thus far in my post op (3 1/2 months out) I am 62 pounds down, more mobile and more confident than ever. I couldn’t be happier with my decision to proceed with the vertical sleeve gastrectomy or putting my faith in Dr. A. I am so happy with my experience and results, that I would encourage anyone - strangers, family or friends, to seek out Dr. Alvarez. I am a patient who travelled from Canada and would still prefer the treatment (and price) I received from Dr. A over what seemingly little, and expensive options I had in my city. I feel lucky to have found this master bariatric surgeon.

Nov. 20, 2020

Overall
avatar

Dr. A saved my life! When I made the decision to have gastric sleeve I weighed 435 pounds! Thanks to Dr. Alvarez I am down to 291 pounds! I'm 61 pounds away from my goal but with this tool I will get there! Dr. A and his staff were amazing and attentive and actually care about their patients. They all speak English and the new state of the art hospital is the cleanest I've ever seen! If you are on the fence about surgery, just do it and choose Dr. Alvarez and Endobariatric!

Oct. 23, 2020

Overall
avatar

Dr A changed my life! Best decision ever!! I could not have asked for a better experience. I can not give Dr A and his team as many stars here as they deserve. Who knew you could ask questions and get answers so quickly anytime day or night. He is the best ??????

Oct. 22, 2020

Overall
avatar

I had surgery July 7, 2020 and in 2 days it will be exactly 3 months since surgery! I have gotten my life back! My husband says that I am a brand new woman! I turned 40 this year and have a 6 year old son. I had no energy to keep up with him! We would do a lot of movie watching because mom was always tired!
I heard about Dr. Alvarez from a coworker that had surgery with him. As soon as I told my family about a surgeon in Mexico, you can guess how the questions started rolling! You can feel VERY safe going down there to have surgery with Dr. A. The hospital is like a resort! He is such an intelligent man how he has the van escort you across the border. He has his scheduling and staff very well organized! You will not have to worry about a thing. It is so fun to take a "companion" with you! You get to be with your spouse or friend (who ever you take) the whole time. Dr. A meets you the night before you surgery and genuinely cares to get to know you! He comes in before surgery to speak to you one last time before the life-changing surgery. It is so easy! I was up and walking just an hour or so after surgery! The staff was so great to get me anything I needed the day of surgery. I love being part of his patients' facebook page! There we are all a community of "Sleeve Siblings" where you can ask honest questions and get honest answers!
You will not regret choosing Dr. A in Piedras Negras, Mexico! I cannot wait to go back down there to visit!

Oct. 5, 2020

Overall
avatar

I was nervous to have this surgery and then going to Mexico for it! Let me tell you that this was the BEST decision I have ever made. From the moment I was picked up to go to the Endohospital until today, I felt safe and cared for. Everyone at there was so awesome and really caring ?.
Dr. Alvarez is so calming to be around. He explains everything and is available to you the entire stay. I feel like we're friends now. I can always email him or call him with any questions or concerns. I will 100% recommend Dr. Alvarez the Endohospital and all the STAFF.

Sept. 28, 2020

Overall
avatar

Si pudiera calificarlo con más Estrellas lo haría!!! Excelente doctor y ser humano! Resolviendo siempre mis dudas antes y después de la operación! El mejor equipo y hospital que pude haber elegido. Gracias Dr. Álvarez! ????

Sept. 26, 2020

Overall
avatar

Dr. A is an amazing caring and knowledgeable surgeon. I started watching his YouTube videos and looking at different sites, reading reviews about 1 1/2 years ago. He offers so much information. I finally decided to reach out and contact the office earlier this year (2020). Everyone I came in contact with was super friendly and very helpful. Everyone speaks English, as well as Spanish. I can’t believe how easy the whole process was from start to finish. Once I met Dr. A , it was confirmed I made the right decision on choosing him as my surgeon. He was down to earth, very informative and made everyone feel so comfortable, just like family. His whole team is absolutely amazing and makes you feel like family. He made me feel like I was in great hands and I felt very comfortable with the entire process. My husband went with me and he was also very pleased with Dr. A. and his entire team and the facility. His faculty is extrmely clean and done very nicely. There was plenty of time to ask questions before making my appointment and even after, as well as when I was there. Dr. A had a meet and greet and opened it up to any questions. We all got to tour the faculty as well. Dr. A is very thorough going over the process and answering any questions in a way everyone can understand. What really made me happy was the fact that we are given his personal contact info in case we have any questions once we return home. It is a huge peace of mind knowing you can get a hold of your surgeon even after you return home. Everything went so smoothly and I was extremely impressed with the entire process from the initial contact to finish. The payment process was easy too. If I could I would give him even more stars. I have already recommended him to close friends and one my friend is already scheduled to go see him in November. I can not say enough great things about him and his staff. I have already lost 50 pounds and feel amazing. The healing process went great. You won’t regret choosing Dr. A as your surgeon.

Sept. 10, 2020

Overall
avatar

Dr. A and his staff provided a wonderful experience during my visit there. I have recommended he and his profession to my family and they are scheduled to see him.

My surgery should not have been categorized as a surgery. Most surgeries I was nervous, scared, had pain and lots of healing afterwards. This surgery was "pleasing". Dr. A made you feel at ease, as well as his staff. I felt no pain. I had a small amount of "gassy" discomfort, that a few walking laps around the hospital floor took care of. After a few more laps, I had to ask myself, did I have a major surgery? I felt great. The next day I had a facial, a tasty fruit smoothie and walked some more. The third day I went home. I felt great for someone who had surgery. And I wasn't on any pain medication. After three months, I still have the unused pain prescription Dr. A prescribed. I didn't need it!! I couldn't wait to go home and start my new life. But, don't get me wrong, I would've really wanted to stay just a little longer, because it was that nice. It was like a vacation resort. So clean and the staff catered to your needs. When we pulled away in the van to head out, we turned around and waved back as Dr. A was waving farewell to us. It felt like you were waving bye to Mickey Mouse leaving Disney World. It was sad, but a very happy moment too!

Sept. 10, 2020

Overall
avatar

Best Dr ever he is as profesional as can be as explaining the procedure but also as humble as like putting your luggage in your vehicle. His hospital is top of the line you won’t even realize you are in a hospital it feels more like a retreat staff all speak English and are the best I was one of those person that thought what about if something happens to me since I’m doing my surgery in Piedras Negras but once there everything was just so amazing as far as the treatment the hospital the staff I couldn’t be happier for the experience I had. Surgery went great and recovery was even better no pain after surgery was walking the next day as nothing.

Aug. 16, 2020

Overall

1 previous review. « hide

Best Dr ever he is as profesional as can be as explaining the procedure but also as humble as like putting your luggage in your vehicle. His hospital is top of the line you won’t even realize you are in a hospital it feels more like a retreat staff all speak English and are the best I was one of those person that thought what about if something happens to me since I’m doing my surgery in Piedras Negras but once there everything was just so amazing as far as the treatment the hospital the staff I couldn’t be happier for the experience I had .

Aug. 16, 2020

Overall
avatar

The Endohospital is more like a resort than a hospital. With Dr. A only performing up to 4 surgeries a day, you become close to the other patients and their families. The staff goes above and beyond to treat you like family. They do anything to help you and your companion to feel safe and comfortable. The day I left the hospital Dr A himself carried my and my mom’s luggage to the van!! I would recommend Dr A to anyone who is ready to change their lives!

Aug. 12, 2020

Overall
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×