Guillermo Alvarez

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 4.98015873016 out of 5 with 1136 ratings

Guillermo Alvarez Bariatric Surgeon MD

Guillermo Alvarez Bariatric Surgeon Picture

15 yr in Bariatrics

15 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

15 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

100% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 11

Max Age of Patient is 75


Brandi Carter Profile Pic
Brandi Carter
Patient Coordinator
Rosie Flores Profile Pic
Rosie Flores
Patient Coordinator
Lourdes Carranza Profile Pic
Lourdes Carranza
Personal Assistant

1136 Reviews for Guillermo Alvarez
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

I am a healthcare provider that works in critical care and often see all the rare albeit life threatening post-surgical complications. For that reason, I was very particular when it came time to select a surgeon and hospital. I have no doubt that I picked the best surgeon and hospital. I would let no one else touch me or my family. In fact, my daughter is now scheduled for surgery with Dr. Alvarez. I can not recommend him highly enough. He truly is changing lives one sleeve at a time.

Feb. 1, 2023

Overall
avatar

Felt Safe - 5star
Knowledgeable - 5star
Facility - 5 Star Resort/Hospital - 5star
Surgery( VSG plus Gallbladder removal) - 5 star
Pre surgery Planning/Program - 5 star
Post Surgery Care and Recovery - 5 Star
Affordability and value - 5-Star
Overall Results - Off the scale!

Jan. 22, 2023

Overall

1 previous review. « hide

Felt Safe - 5star
Knowledgeable - 5star
Facility - 5 Star Resort/Hospital - 5star
Surgery( VSG plus Gallbladder removal) - 5 star
Pre surgery Planning/Program - 5 star
Post Surgery Care and Recovery - 5 Star
Affordability and value - 5-Star
Overall Results - Off the scale!

Jan. 22, 2023

Overall
avatar

I had the absolute best experience with Dr.Alvarez and his staff. The facility is beyond nice. I felt at home my entire stay. All the staff including Dr.A made us feel like family. I am currently 12 weeks post op and have healed beautifully. I was in no pain after surgery. I couldn’t imagine a better experience.

Jan. 20, 2023

Overall
avatar

I was sleeved on October 17, 2022. Admittedly, going to Mexico from the Seattle area was a bit daunting. However, an aquaintance had a wonderful spa-like experience at Endohospital so I did tons of research and decided to move forward with Dr. A and his expertise. NOT ONE REGRET! A wonderful experience frm start to finish. I lost 20 pounds on my 3 week pre-op diet and another 45 since then at 12 weeks post-op. I had some hiccups post-op but after sending emails, Dr. A was extremely responsive and helped with useful solutions and I’m feeling fantastic! I would recommend Dr. Alvarez again and again. Thank you for helping me regain my confidence and get my life back!

Jan. 15, 2023

Overall
avatar

Dr. Alvarez and his team at Endohospital were absolutely amazing!!! I had the best experience. Surgery was flawless and my recovery was seamless due to the care and preparation his entire team provided. Every person I met was so friendly and helpful! Dr. Alvarez is a very caring provider and you can tell he honestly cares for each and every one of his patients. I would definitely recommend Dr. Alvarez and his staff to anyone considering the Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy!!

Jan. 9, 2023

Overall
avatar

The best Dr. I have ever met, the most professional and caring also. He and his staff take care of from beginning to end. I promise you will not find any other doctor that's better than this man. I have lost 70 pounds since the end of September 2022. Thank You DR. Alvarez for all you have done for me and my family. CLAY CUPPLES

Dec. 27, 2022

Overall
avatar

At 65 years old, the craziest thing I have ever done is travel on my own to have VSG surgery in Mexico. From the moment I stepped off the plane in San Antonio everything was meticulously organized. Most people when they hear of Mexico, they think of crime and how dangerous it is, I was no different. The Endohospital is a few blocks away from the Mexican border. Once onboard the endobus it takes but a few minutes to get there. This hospital is like a 5 star hotel, not only is it beautifully decorated, it is spotless, a far cry from US hospitals. The medical staff take care of all your needs 24/7. All of them speak fluent English and are clearly very educated.

The staff are top notch, but the star of the facility is Dr. Alvarez. Such a humble and truly caring individual, who puts you right at ease through the whole process. His knowledge and skills are second to none. You don’t stay at the top of your profession through sheer luck. It takes years of dedication and hard work. He is continuously learning how to improve his skills.

For anyone looking to change their lives with VSG surgery, look no further, you have found the best surgeon. Good luck on your journey. I will be eternally grateful to Dr. Alvarez and his wonderful team.

Dec. 19, 2022

Overall
avatar

Dr Alvarez and his entire staff were awesome.. very helpful, answered questions and continue to be here for me as needed.
This tool is helping to reach some goals I never thought would be possible! I’m feeling so much better in a variety of ways. Health, clarity, energy, I’m beginning to be me again!! Thank you for everything! If anyone out there is considering surgery do your research. I would highly recommend Dr A. And his team. You would be hard pressed to find a cleaner facility! The staff makes sure you have everything you need..

Dec. 11, 2022

Overall
avatar

I had a friend who had her surgery with Dr. Alvarez and she told me what a great experience it was and I was finally convinced to have it done myself. It takes a lot of soul-searching and bravery to decide to have a surgery like this done, and my friend said that Dr. Alvarez was the best. we flew from the east coast into San Antonio Texas and the Endo hospital had set up everything for us once we got to San Antonio. They made sure we had all of our proper documentation prior to us getting to San Antonio and the day before the surgery they picked us up in the sprinter van at the hotel. Upon reaching the hotel, we were greeted by the wonderful staff and had a Q&A session a few hours later with Dr. Alvarez. He answered all of our questions, including any that any of the travel partners had. The hospital as clean as a whistle, cleaner than a lot of the US hospitals that I’ve stayed at. They treated our travel companions to dinner that night, and we had a special poblano soup that we could eat the day before surgery. Dr. Alvarez never takes more than five or six patients a day. Unlike a lot of other places I’ve heard of who can do up to 20 or more a day. On surgery day we woke up early and went to the surgery floor for each of our turns. The staff was very comforting, and very understanding, and the anesthesiologist comes in to talk to you before hand. He was very calming as well, and I honestly don’t remember anything after they willed me through the doors to go into surgery. Dr. Alverez make sure he has your loved ones contact information and will call or text anyone you ask them to. My friend was with me so he let her know everything was great and he also called my husband back home to let him know everything was great. We stayed a day or two after surgery and they make sure that you walk a lot within side the hospital on the floor that you’re staying on to work out all the gas that they have to use during surgery. I was blessed to me a wonderful group of people who had surgery the same day I did, and we still keep in touch to this day. The day after the surgery, if you are up to it, one of the staff will take you into the local town to walk around and purchase any souvenirs and also to go to the local pharmacy where you can purchase medication that you may want although the hospital provide you with medication as well.
I can truly say that this experience was a wonderful one and Dr. Alverez will always answer your questions via email before during and after your surgery. He is the best one out there, so don’t hesitate to reach out to them and book your surgery.

Dec. 9, 2022

Overall
avatar

Dr. Alvarez was involved with his patients every step of the way. Pre surgery one of his people was assigned to me & was an intermediary. She answered & addressed any & all concerns I had. Thanks Brandi! Upon arrival we were greeted taken to our room & given a menu. That poblano soup is the bomb. I've tried to replicate it at home & can't quite get it right. That evening Dr. Alvarez met all of us (i think we were a group of 6 or 7) to introduce himself, tell us what to expect & answer any questions we had. Next morning we were prepped for surgery. It was quick. Dr. Alvarez checked in that night & following morning. He continued to send emails letting us know when we could have fuller liquids & when we could start eating solid foods. He also provided his contact info in case we feel the need to reach out to him. I would highly recommend f
Dr. Alvarez & his staff for anyone considering this option.

Nov. 25, 2022

Overall
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×