Guillermo Alvarez

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 4.9740034662 out of 5 with 971 ratings

Guillermo Alvarez Bariatric Surgeon MD

Guillermo Alvarez Bariatric Surgeon Picture

13 yr in Bariatrics

13 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

13 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

100% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 11

Max Age of Patient is 74


Brandi Carter Profile Pic
Brandi Carter
Patient Coordinator
Rosie Flores Profile Pic
Rosie Flores
Patient Coordinator
Lourdes Carranza Profile Pic
Lourdes Carranza
Personal Assistant

971 Reviews for Guillermo Alvarez
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

From the time you step foot in the hospital, you feel like family. The Endohospital is top-notch-- the staff is great-- and Dr. A is amazing! The only thing I regret is not doing this sooner... 3 months later I'm down over 40 pounds and feel awesome! Thank you Dr.A and staff-- yall are the BEST!!

Aug. 11, 2020

Overall
avatar

I’m officially a week out from surgery and wanted to share my experience with Dr. Alvarez at Endobariatrics. I’ll preface by saying that a month before my surgery, my husband had gastric sleeve done at another facility in Mexico. I was not happy with the experience and knew that there had to be better options out there. My journey was so much better and I would recommend anyone who is on the fence to place their trust in Endobariatrics. The facility is gorgeous and spotless, but the staff are the true gems. I am not exaggerating when I say that every need was considered before I even had to ask for anything. Every detail has been thought of ahead of time. Being at Endohospital felt like it was designed just for me and like I was the only patient. When I pressed the call button, someone was there within 30 seconds. I had the same couple of nurses the whole time and they are so sweet and gentle. Everyone spoke English and I never felt confused about the process or in the dark about what happens next (the exact opposite of my husbands experience).
When I woke from surgery I was really surprised that I had none of the dreaded gas pain that everyone talks about. I would rate my overall pain a 3 out of 10 for the first couple days. Another surprise is that I have no drinking restrictions. I was able to immediately drink my 64oz each day without a problem and never had nausea. My recovery has been much easier than my husbands and I attribute that to the methods Dr. A uses. As a business owner I can see and appreciate all the time, effort and expense that Dr. A has put into this practice. I am so grateful that I had this opportunity. Thank you Endobariatric Team and Dr. Alvarez!

July 16, 2020

Overall
avatar

It is hard to believe that in a few days I will reach 5 months post op. What’s more difficult to grasp is that I am 15 pounds away from my goal of 140 pounds! What? I embrace the tool Dr A gave me every day. I work on the mental stuff too every day. I know some day I will reach that goal and maybe even exceed it. Either way, I am a completely healthier me! For that reason alone, I am utterly and completely happy! Thank you Dr A and thank you Endo team!

July 7, 2020

Overall

1 previous review. « hide

I struggled my whole life with obesity. Finally at 52 I knew I needed the help to get on the path to a healthier life. I researched and saved and finally on Valentine’s Day I was give the tool by Dr. Alvarez and Endo Hospital. He is simply the best and has assembled the best team and built the most amazing facility, hospital, and hotel. I put my faith in him and here I am just 5 weeks out and I feel fantastic. I know I will be successful. I am down about 35 pounds, I exercise 4 days a week and I eat healthy. If you are in need of help with your struggles with your weight please look no further than Dr. Alvarez at Endo Hospital. There is no better surgeon and no better path to a healthier longer life.

March 20, 2020

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

After many Years of frustration of trying my Best to loose weight on my own I am Greatful God has led me to Doctor Alvarez & His team to shape in me a tool (sleeve stomace) to help assist & Guide me in my weightloss journey. I'll admit before the Surgery I was kinda scared because I do Not know spanish but Dr. A's team knew both spanish & English & that calmed me. My experience at the Endohospital was very Good because everyone was friendly & made me feel welcomed,
& comfortable, & everything was so clean. Doctor G. Alvarez Doesn't Stop after the Surgery is done, I had questions when I went home after Surgery & Dr. A answered all my emails back. Thank You Doctor Guillermo Alvarez I am able to continue in my weightloss journey with determination in winning this Battle, sence the Surgery I been able to sleep at Night & able to feel little things here & there changing in my life (both in my physical & emotional Health) this was one of the Best Decision I've made in my life for my Health! (I'm excited to compare my before, during & after Pictures thought out my journey).

July 1, 2020

Overall
avatar

I can not begin to tell you how wonderful Dr. Alverez and his team are. Everyone there went above and beyond what I thought was possible. My mom thought I was crazy for going to Mexico to have surgery, so she went with me. She is now one of Dr. Alverez’s biggest fans, she tells anyone who will listen how fantastic he and his team are! I am down 50 lbs and counting I have a whole new lease on life and feel better than I have in years! Thank you and your team for everything! Please don’t hesitate for a second to use Dr. Alverez and his team to start your new life!

June 20, 2020

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

The best hospital and doctor. Highly professional. Very caring even after the surgery. Would do it all over again. The best doctor ever!!!

June 18, 2020

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I’m 5’9”, 51 yrs old, and got up to 270 lbs. I have sleep apnea, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, and pre-diabetic. (All of these are weight / obesity-related) Ridiculous! I don't want to spend this entire review telling all the reasons to do it, I want to tell you why I chose Dr. Alvarez and his amazing staff at Endobariatric (Endobariatric.com)! I heard about Dr. A through a colleague who had the VSG done by Dr. A and raved about what a fantastic experience he had at Endobariatric. I researched this whole thing for about a solid month before I chose Dr. Alvarez. I read all the info and watch all the videos. I even attended a "free seminar" at another bariatric clinic here in TX. I could not find one single bad review on Endobariatric and Dr. A's team. The info on Endobariatric.com was very transparent and informative as to why Dr. Alvarez only does one type of Bariatric surgery (VSG), and the history behind it, and all the other versions of bariatric procedures (gastric by-pass, duodenum switch, lap band, etc.). My insurance does not cover any bariatric procedures of any kind. Based on my friend's experience and recommendation, I inquired at Endobariatric.com. I immediately got a response from Brandi Carter ([email protected]), who is not only an awesome coordinator, but she also a former patient of Dr. A, and is an awesome mentor and resource. I got a total, turn-key, "cash price" immediately from Brandi. The communication from start to finish was seamless. During my preliminary research (looking for a Dr.), I got a "cash-price" quote from another bariatric clinic in Texas and the cost (without insurance coverage) was about 3X higher! And, they WOULD NOT GIVE A TOTAL, FINAL PRICE. The price I was quoted by Endobariatric never changed from start to finish. No surprises, no extra invoices from other Drs, no unexpected expenses !, It was exactly what Brandi quoted. My wife, Julie, accompanied me and was very concerned about, not only traveling into Mexico but also, our safety during our stay. Now, she is Dr. A's biggest fan! She tells people, "Don’t sweat the Mexico thing! The Endobariatric facility is as nice as any resort and they treat you like royalty!" The hotel is on the top floor of the hospital, so you never even have to leave the property once your there (if you do not want to). However, our Concierge, Roman, shuttled my wife and me (and the rest of my sleeve sibling group) anywhere we wanted to go, and we never felt "unsafe" while we were out and about in the quaint little town of Piedras Negras. The day after my surgery, I felt awesome and was ready for a frozen margarita (virgin, of course for me, the good kind for Julie !) from El Senator! Then, we were off to the EndoSpa for some pampering! It was the safest, most professional first-class thing I’ve ever experienced. In closing, I haven’t met not one person yet that regrets doing the procedure or having it done by Dr. A! I’ve done every diet on earth. I could always lose 20-30Lbs every time. But as soon as I resume my “regular lifestyle” I gain it right back. Skinny people all say, “oh, you just have to change your Lifestyle, or change your habits”. Well heck !, If I could do that, I would have already done it! I wanted something permanent, that wouldn’t give up on me whenever I do. Honestly, before my friend highly recommended Dr. A, and had already done it with amazing results, I would have never dreamed of having this, or any surgery, done in Mexico. My experience at Endobariatric and with Dr. Alvarez has totally changed my perspective of "out-of-pocket" procedures here in the states and apprehensions of having them done elsewhere. The more you research Dr. A, the more times you will see this statement: "Dr. A saved my life!" He did mine! Dr. A is the best in the world at this! Listen to him and follow his pre-op and post-op recommendations, and get ready to have a new lease on life! I am 3.5 months post-op, down 63 lbs, (CW 207) and already off Cholesterol meds (the others are next !)

June 16, 2020

2 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

One of the best decisions I’ve made! Dr. Alvarez and his team were fantastic. My entire family thought I was crazy for even considering surgery, let alone traveling over 2,000 miles from home and out of the country to have it done. I was scared. But I didn’t have to be. Everything with Dr. Alvarez from start to finish exceeded expectations. If you have any hesitation, don’t, you’ll be in excellent hands.

May 28, 2020

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

There are no words to express how this was the best decision for my health I have ever made. I have dieted my whole life, including pills, obsessive working out, WW, doctor-supervised, no carbs, Whole 30, etc. If it came across my table, I was all in. Unfortunately, same applied to food. If it came across the table, it was all in as well. I never was really hungry, but also never really full. I have spent the last several years packing on weight, and hiding in my home, avoiding all things social, face-planting in to the couch due to lack of energy. The decision to have the surgery was after turning 51 and a lifetime of failed attempts, I had met a few friends who had quietly done this. They were way heavier to me (in my head, anyway) so I never thought I would qualify. I began researching....my doctor was all for, as was my husband and my 80 year old mom. I was like, DANG...maybe i am worse than i thought. I called my insurance. I even qualified for coverage. REALLY??? lol. Full denial coming to light of how bad I had let things get.
However checking into insurance, there were at least 6 months of hoops to jump through...including several appts with various doctors, monitored dieting, etc...which could have actually have lead to me falling under the line to qualify at the time of the actual procedure.
In January, one of my husband's friends was talking to my husband about his returning from Mexico and Dr. Alvarez. His wife had done this a couple years before. He said call and see about it, get it on the books. Next thing i knew, after some interview screening, I was booked to go in under a month.
Long story short, the facility was 5 star, the staff was friendly, engaging, professional. Dr. A is personable and present. This place has hotel suites built in so that you are never off-site during the visit. Also, being able to stay an extra day longer in setting allows peace of mind that everything is healing successfully. My travel person was able to go for a spa day (arranged and accompanied by a staff member who acts as a concierge for all the patients and families.) The night before we left, all the patients and companions hung out in room together, like a dorm party. Such a positive experience every step of the way. If i had gone the original route, I would still be waiting on the surgery to take place. And i would have still had all of my weight plus another 30 lbs for being in lockdown for 9 weeks.
Instead I am down about 30, clothes are fun again, my eating is completely under control, my energy is back. I feel like I have been given back my life. It is really emotional, y'all. Lol!
Unfortunately, I have avoided pics the last several years, and also people. So now that i am down about 30, most folks aren't even noticing, because they never saw me at my largest. But for the introvert side of me, I don't mind, just because the real reward at the moment is just enjoying their company again in person, and being happy in my own skin. I am only 3 months in, and if the weight loss stopped right now, it would have been completely worth it. However I still am supposed to keep losing weight for several more months, and with the added exercise I actually enjoy, I will be evolving for a while.
I told my people, if given the choice of doing this surgery at home or traveling to Mexico to be under Dr. Alvarez's care, there is no choice. I would 100% do it again, even if it was having to wait for him for six months. He is the definition of an expert in this area. His resumé is off the charts. God bless him in his continued efforts to change people's lives for the better.

May 25, 2020

2 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Wonderful physician with the BEST bedside manner. Immaculate facilities. He provides all the information you would ever need, to EVERYONE through his website and videos, that I felt like I knew him before I ever met him. Best decision I’ve EVER made for myself.

May 15, 2020

1 person found this helpful

Overall
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×