NSV - New Job

(deactivated member)
on 12/22/17 8:34 pm
VSG on 01/12/17

I was so worried about my new job and how physical it was! I mean, I was terrified. I work as a CNA in a memory care wing in a nursing home. They are at the end stages, therefore they need very hands on care. Moving, lifting, etc. I've been there about 2 weeks now and have done great. I move around like crazy, probably get 13-15k steps in a day on my fitbit and can hold up. Only problem was my feet were KILLING me until I bought a new pair of shoes. I was wearing Nike and they just crushed my feet half way through the shift, so I did some research and spent money on Brooks shoes and it is awesome.

Laura in Texas
on 12/23/17 6:02 am

I am so glad to hear your new job is going well. Do you wear some sort of belt to help your back with the lifting?

Laura in Texas

53 years old; 5'7" tall; HW: 339 (BMI=53); GW: 140 CW: 170 (BMI=27)

RNY: 09-17-08 Dr. Garth Davis

brachioplasty: 12-18-09 Dr. Wainwright; lbl/bl: 06-28-11 Dr. LoMonaco

"May your choices reflect your hopes and not your fears."

(deactivated member)
on 12/23/17 1:01 pm
VSG on 01/12/17

No, no belt or anything for my back. I never thought about one. Most of my hall is all 2 person, or mechanical lifts.

Laura in Texas
on 12/23/17 2:54 pm

I think you should look into some sort of belt to help your back.

You are young, but as someone in my 50's, I can tell you years of not taking care of my back is hurting me now.

Laura in Texas

53 years old; 5'7" tall; HW: 339 (BMI=53); GW: 140 CW: 170 (BMI=27)

RNY: 09-17-08 Dr. Garth Davis

brachioplasty: 12-18-09 Dr. Wainwright; lbl/bl: 06-28-11 Dr. LoMonaco

"May your choices reflect your hopes and not your fears."

seattledeb
on 12/23/17 10:51 pm

The lifts are pretty cool. Hopefully the OP is well versed in using them. They really work great.