Newbie here! Advise needed!

Sara-Starr
on 4/13/18 4:58 pm

So, I've only just begun the process, and I've already become discouraged. Without going into it too much, my referall went through super fast, BUT the nurse said I had to wait a year to send another referral, because I hadn't quit smoking for six months, and I hadn't done a documented diet. So obviously I'm a little upset. However I don't understand what I need to do, and she didn't seem to understand herself. I will be going to the Guelph Ontario clinic. Does anyone know anything I can do? Also what weight loss programs are approved? Do I have to spend an arm and a leg? Ugh. Help!

Kathleen W.
on 4/13/18 5:28 pm - Lancaster, PA

First thing is to calm down and don't get fustrated. It's a rather daunting task, especially in the beginning. Find out if there's a case manager or someone higher up that can explain things to you. I don't know how it is where you're having it done, but where I'm at, it takes 6-8 months from the first meeting with the doctor to where they do the surgery. My doctor had me do a supervised diet, get clearances from a cardiologist, psych evaluation, pulminary( I had sleep apnea). See what you need to do so you can get your surgery.

PS: I was able to do Weigh****chers for my weight loss program .

SW 327
GW 150
CW 126

CJ On Orcas
on 4/13/18 8:11 pm
RNY on 09/09/16

For most people it is a long process. It was a year feom when my doctor first referred me until I had WLS. Lot of hoops to jump through. But it is so worthwhile.

seattledeb
on 4/13/18 10:53 pm

You gotta quit smoking. They won't do an elective surgery on an overweight higher risk anesthesia patient who smokes.

Daisydoo02
on 4/14/18 8:13 am - GTA, Ontario, Canada
RNY on 11/15/13

You are best to head over to the "Ontario" board, lots of Guelph patients there.

Anyone looking to get WLS has to be a non smoker and proven they have not smoked in at least 6 months. They do blood tests to check if you have truly quit.