Extra Protein

ntine4
on 12/31/11 11:29 pm
So I have been having issues gettting enough protein in my diet and I found these New Whey Liquid Protein shots that are about 3.8 oz they have no sugar and 48grams of protein. Some of them are really sweet but I found the watermelon one to be great taste just like a jolly ranch and not as sweet as some of the others I tried.

TysCandi
on 12/31/11 11:33 pm
Those shots aren't good for us because they are mostly made up of collagen protein which lacks amino acids that we need in order to absorb it. So by drinking them you aren't increasing your protein intake...

HW: 326  SW: 312  GW:140

poet_kelly
on 12/31/11 11:39 pm - OH
They contain mostly collagen protein, which doesn't have all the amino acids we need.  They are not absorbed well at all and you will get very little protein out of them.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

(deactivated member)
on 1/1/12 12:14 am
 If i am reading a label and it say's 45 grams of protein. What will it or will it not say so that I know I am getting the proper protein with amino acids?
poet_kelly
on 1/1/12 12:27 am - OH
Read the ingredients.  If it has collagen protein, you won't get all the amino acids.  Now, some of those protein shots have a little whey isolate or calcium caseinate, so you'll get a little protein from those, but not much.  If the collagen is listed on the label before the other types of protein, that means the product has more collagen than the other things.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly