Carnation instant breakfast ~VS~ Whey Protien

Amysbrats04
on 8/29/12 8:59 am - Melbourne, FL
So on my way to start my journey I have seen 2 different surgeons. The first surgeon I saw asked his patients to buy and drink the Whey protien. Unfortunately this Dr was too far for me, and I ended up choosing a Dr that was much closer to me. The new Dr suggests the Carnation instant breakfast. I had already bought a container of the Whey, so now I am curious if I should just throw it away or what I should do with it.

poet_kelly
on 8/29/12 9:12 am - OH
I would use the whey, provided it has more protein and less sugar than Carnation Instant Breakfast - which is almost certain does.  Carnation Instant Breakfast has very little protein - only five grams I think.  That's not worth the calories in, IMO.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

jewel-twin
on 8/29/12 9:26 am - Canada
I had the nutrition class just two days ago and they had examples of both the carnation and the whey protien .... the Carnation is low in protien and high in sugar.  We have been instructed that sugar should be under 5 g and protien over 30 g.....

I am actually surprised they would suggest you drink something so high in sugar.

Family Dr. 06/05/2012    Referral Received 06/28/2012 Orientation 08/01/2012   NP 08/27/2012
SW 08/28/2012              Nut Class 08/27/2012
NUT 10/01/2012              PS 10/01/2012
Surgeon Dr. Cyriac 12/07/2012  **SURGERY  JAN 30, 2013**

fooh.png

TXKashmir
on 8/29/12 9:34 am - Grand Prairie, TX
I tried that Sugar Free Carnation Instant Breakfast right after surgery and dumped hard! Do yourself a favor and stick to the whey - it.s much better for you!

Debbie