I did something I haven't done in 30 years today !!!!!!!

BriarRose
on 2/20/12 11:03 am

~~~ I bought a size 14 jean ~~~ YES ~~~ you read that right ~~~ A SIZE 14 JEAN ! ~~~

Right before I started this journey, I had to buy Plus size 28 jean.  I felt humilitated that I wore such a huge size.  How could a 26 NOT fit ? There must have been something wrong with the jeans.

Well, it was 11 months from referral to surgery, and now I am a year post-op.  I lost 34 pounds pre-op, and 88 post -op. I've been stuck at 178 pounds now for a few months...but not really worried.  I have learned how to maintain my weight and if I can get myself motivated again, I know that the last 8 pounds or so CAN and WILL come off....  so, although I am not stuck on a size I want or have to be....I think the last time I was able to buy a size 14, I was in Graduate School....and I got my degree in 1981 !!!!

I heard about an Old Navy sale here on OH, so went to check it out.  I've never shopped there....never fit in their clothing.  So I was trying to figure out if I was a "flirt" or a "diva" or a "dreamer"  and a sales girl came over and asked if she could help me.  To tell the truth I was just about to bolt outta there, because odviously between the music and the signage being totally unfamiliar....I was otta my league.  But I just decided to ask for the help of what appeared to be a 12 year old working there.  (can you tell I'm feeling old today ?) Well, "Daisy" perky as she could be told me that I was NOT a size 16 (by just looking at me ?!) and gave me more information that I ever knew about low, mid and regular rise jeans....so at almost 56 years old, I tried on size 14 jeans, and they fit !! 

I was dancing to the too loud music in the dressing room (which btw houses both men and women ?!) and bought a pr of size 14 jeans !