Getting DS in two days

BDF23
on 11/26/18 7:03 pm
DS on 11/28/18

So I'm a newbie here and I'll be getting the DS in less than two days. The reality is starting to creep in. I've had open heart surgery and other procedures so the actual surgery doesn't worry me but I am already preparing for the depression and sense of loss that I am going to experience when I can no longer turn to food, my drug of choice. The lifestyle changes and mental part of this procedure is what scares me. I now that I need to do this because I could never do it on my own but I am scared. I just hope I'm doing the right thing.

MarinaGirl
on 11/27/18 7:21 am

Congrats on your upcoming surgery! Who is your surgeon and are you getting the standard of care DS (two anastomoses) or a one anastomosis procedure?

(deactivated member)
on 11/27/18 2:10 pm
PattyL
on 11/28/18 9:24 am

What sense of loss? Eventually you will be able to eat anything!

Liz J.
on 11/28/18 1:01 pm, edited 11/29/18 11:39 pm
DS on 11/29/16

*But I am already preparing for the depression and sense of loss that I am going to experience when I can no longer turn to food, my drug of choice*

This is what you'll need to work on while you heal. Honestly, I'm just two years out on Friday and I can eat almost anything I want, I'm just very careful about what I do eat. I still hit protein first, then low carb veggies, and last I might have something like fruit or maybe even a small piece of some dessert but it's all in moderation now.

HW: 398.8 SW:356 GW: 175 CW:147

PeteA
on 11/29/18 6:53 am - Parma, OH
DS on 04/15/13