Newbie - Sassy Senior in Dallas

SassySenior
on 10/14/11 9:59 pm - DALLAS, TX
I am 65, and at high risk with a high BMI  & co-morbidities. I have been studying wls for 10 years. I have Medicare now and can get the surgery. I'm going with the Lap Band. I'm on the pre-op diet, and have lost 25 pounds in 3 months.

I live in Dallas and have chosen the best surgeon in the Southwest, but I am thinking of changing because his office is quite far away. So now I'm looking for the 2nd best surgeon. I'm a member of at least 5 groups to get a balanced view. They range from gastric bypass to lap-band to hard core fanatics who hate the surgeries and have had horrible experiences. I have a lot of links and information for anyone who wants it.

I would love to hear from anyone who can relate to me.
Stephanie G.
on 10/15/11 8:24 am - Rowlett, TX
You need to go with your gut.  Whichever surgery feels right for you and which Dr you trust.  You will have frequent visits before surgery but not so much afterward so I wouldn't let distance decide for me.  Personally I had a lapband and would never do it again.  I vomited daily for 2 years and nearly ruined my esophagus.  BUT, that is MY experience, not necessarily yours.  Also I'm sure your research shows that lapbands were originally designed for people who had about 60 lbs to lose-so not knowing your BMI, I can't tell you which surgery you should go with.  That decision is between you and your doctor. 

I LOVE my bypass and found it very easy to lose the weight-maintaining is HARD WORK however.  No surgery is going to be the golden ticket to a "skinny healthy you"-pick one you can comply with on every level.

~Stephanie~
RNY revision from lapband 7/30/07...TT/BL 10/9/08 and at GOAL

kyutzy
on 10/19/11 7:48 am - Arlington, TX