New to site, Texan

rnin2011
on 11/2/13 12:43 pm

Greetings,

I am a life long DFW resident, though I currently reside in Eagle Pass for the purpose of starting my R.N. career, and I am in need of advice.  I had a Roux en Y gastric bypass in 2005 in Dallas by Dr. Davidson.  I lost from 275 pounds down to 130 pounds at my lowest.  Unfortunately I have regained and now weigh 203.  I am researching revisions and surgeons and am undecided as to whether I should go an endoscopic route for resizing of the stoma and pouch.  Or should I look into Duodenal Switch.  Also need recommendations on surgeons. Thanks for any help!

Gratefully, rnin2011

Don 1962
on 11/3/13 3:09 am

Outside looking in but I would ask first could you get back to basics and get the regain off and save having another procedure done as a last resort? 

Congrats on your life as an RN.  My wife is one working in a juvenile justice center till at least the end of the year when it is scheduled to be closed barring some intervention from Austin.

Never, and I mean NEVER, trust a fart!! 

rnin2011
on 11/3/13 3:52 am

Thank you for your reply!  Yes, I was just discussing it with my boyfriend about getting back to basics.  I will try it first to see if I start losing weight.  I would have to do this anyway if I did have a revision done, so need to start back to basics to see what I can get done.  Maybe I will give it until March, when I will be relocating back to DFW, and if I have not made any progress I will go to a consultation at that time.  I just remember how much energy I had after the surgery and how great I felt.  I sweat throughout my nursing shift because I am running around for 12 hours and when I get home I am absolutely drained.  I think it would help to get this weight off.  But I don't know if getting back on track will take off the at least 50 I need to lose.  I will be positive and hope for success.  Thanks so much for your reply!

Vivian Prouty
on 11/3/13 4:22 am - Fort Worth, TX