RNY or VSG (for someone w/ PCOS)

bluehen
on 6/13/11 1:11 am - New York, NY
I have been tossing around the idea of WLS surgery for a few years.  This year, I have finally decided, it is time!

I originally thought lap band was the only way to go.  It seemed less invasive, could be reveresed, quicker recovery time.  Then I started doing research and now I'm set on RNY and seems to be the way to go (for me at least).  That is, until I started to read about the sleeve!  Now I'm debating b/w the two. 

I have my consultation w/ my surgeon next Monday and I have been doing a ton of research but I would like to know, anyone in my shoes...or had the same conflict?
BuckeyeGirl
on 6/13/11 2:06 am - TN
I don't have PCOS, so I'd rather not weigh-in on the subject, but, I did want to encourage you to post this question on the VSG board as well. I know there are members there with PCOS and it may be helpful to you to hear their experiences.

Best of luck!
Lindsey

bluehen
on 6/13/11 2:14 am - New York, NY
Thanks Lindsey!
beemerbeeper
on 6/13/11 3:41 am - AL
The DS has the best results for PCOS resolution because of it's extraordinary metabolic effect.  Check it out at www.DSFacts.com.  Come talk to our DS moms on the DS forum as well.

~Becky

facethemusic
on 6/13/11 3:46 am